Project

General

Profile

Nightly Observing Plan for MJD 56697 (starting evening of Feb 8, 2014)

Observers

Observer 1 Observer 2 Run Manager Assistant Run Manager SISPI Expert on Call
Alex Drlica-Wagner Steve Kent Steve Kent
ext. ext. ext.

CTIO staff (Telescope Operators)

Day Support Night Assistant
Humberto Orrego Hernan Tirado

DECam Configuration and Setup

SISPI Configuration File DES.ini
DECam constants DECAM:CURRENT
Proposal ID 2012B-0001
Image Processing (Calibration) NCSA
Image Processing (First Cut) NCSA

Almanac

mjd 56697, date 20140208, Site CTIO, UT-offset 3 hr
Current local time 16:28 CLST     UT 19:28     SidTim 00:00
Sunset     20:44 CLST  23:44 UT   SidTim   64 deg  
Eve. -10   21:21 CLST  00:21 UT   SidTim   74 deg  Zeropoint; standards
Eve. -14   21:41 CLST  00:41 UT   SidTim   78 deg  Begin obstac
Eve. -18   22:02 CLST  01:02 UT   SidTim   84 deg  Last chance standards
Midpoint   01:57 CLST  04:57 UT   SidTim  142 deg  
Moonset    02:46 CLST  05:46 UT   SidTim  155 deg  
Morn -18   05:52 CLST  08:52 UT   SidTim  201 deg  Begin astronomical twilight
Morn Std   06:13 CLST  09:13 UT   SidTim  206 deg  End obstac; begin standards
Morn -10   06:34 CLST  09:34 UT   SidTim  212 deg  
Sunrise    07:11 CLST  10:11 UT   SidTim  221 deg  
Moon position (deg): RA 75.8, Dec 19.8 Phase: 0.619

Weather Conditions

Clear, wind, haze
http://www.meteochile.gob.cl/cna/irsat_alta.png

Observing Plan and Goals for the Night

  1. Afternoon calibrations - script to use: prenight_calibration.json
  2. Dark frames (20 x 100)
  3. Zeropoint check - preceed with zeros script: flush_Vsub.json
  4. Start of night standards (scripts listed below)
  5. Nightly out of focus image (right after last standard, no break) - script to use: defocus_nightly.json
  6. ObsTac
  7. Middle of night standard (scripts listed below)
  8. End of night calibrations - if good afternoon calibrations use postnight_calibration.json, otherwise use postnight_zeros_flats.json

Start of Night Standards - Wind screen down

00:21
E4-A                  ra 09:23:44  dec -45:21:02  secz 1.7 **DES_std_E4-a_Yzirg.json**
SDSSJ0200-0000        ra 02:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.5 **DES_std_SDSSJ0200_Yzirg.json**
C26202/HST            ra 03:32:30  dec -27:46:05  secz 1.1 **DES_std_c26202_Yzirg.json**

End of Night Standards - Wind screen down
UT 04:45
SDSSJ1227-0000        ra 12:27:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.8  **DES_std_SDSSJ1227_grizY.json**