Project

General

Profile

02062018 » History » Version 1

Version 1/2 - Next » - Current version
Stephanie Hamilton, 02/06/2018 12:32 PM


02062018

First-half night for DES

Observers

to get the names, check the shift table

  • Maria Elidaiana da Silva Pereira (Observer 1, RM in training)
  • Stephanie Hamilton (Observer 2, RM)

CTIO Staff

To get the names, check the "staff calendar":* Staff calendar

  • Manuel Hernandez - Obs. Support
  • Claudio Aquilera - Operator

Almanac

forgotten how to do this? Use ephem with kentools

mjd 58156, date 20180206, Site CTIO, UT-offset 3 hr
Current local time 15:27 CLST     UT 18:27     SidTim 22:52
Event      Local-Time  Greenwich  Sidereal-Time
Sunset     20:45 CLST  23:45 UT   04:10   63 deg
Eve. -10   21:23 CLST  00:23 UT   04:48   72 deg  Zeropoint; standards
Eve. -14   21:43 CLST  00:43 UT   05:08   77 deg  Begin obstac
Eve. -18   22:04 CLST  01:04 UT   05:29   82 deg  Last chance standards
Moonrise   00:57 CLST  03:57 UT   08:22  126 deg
Midpoint   01:57 CLST  04:57 UT   09:22  140 deg
Morn -18   05:50 CLST  08:50 UT   13:15  199 deg  Begin astronomical twilight
Morn -14   06:11 CLST  09:11 UT   13:36  204 deg  End obstac; begin standards
Morn -10   06:32 CLST  09:32 UT   13:57  209 deg
Sunrise    07:09 CLST  10:09 UT   14:34  218 deg
Moon position (deg): RA 223.1, Dec -10.3 Phase: 0.558

Weather Conditions

  • at lunch: mostly clear, some clouds around horizon
  • Forecast is to be clear

as predicted by hourly forecast

  • clouds: clear
  • humidity: 70% expected
  • temp: ~12°C expected
  • wind: light winds expected

Observing Plan and Goals for the Night

  • First half DES, second half non-DES
  • Evening standards (Yzirg)
  • Wide survey with obstac.
  • Middle-of-night standards, then handover to second-half observer at 1:57 local time.

forgotten how to do this? Use standards with kentools

  • 3 Evening standards
    Yzirg
UT Date = '2018/02/07 00:23'     Local time = 21:23
E4-A                  ra 09:23:44  dec -45:21:02  secz 1.7
SDSSJ0200-0000        ra 02:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.6
SDSSJ0320-0000        ra 03:20:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.2
  • 1 midpoint standard
    grizY
UT Date = '2018/02/07 04:50'     Local time = 01:50
SDSSJ1227-0000        ra 12:27:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.7

When were the last SN fields observed?

forgotten how to do this? Instructions here

hex_name    seqtype    last_complete
SN-E1    short    2018-01-15 01:08:05.835460+00:00
SN-X3    long_g    2018-01-15 02:17:19.554010+00:00
SN-E2    short    2018-01-16 00:59:34.787393+00:00
SN-S2    short    2018-01-16 02:08:01.691914+00:00
SN-X3    long_z    2018-01-17 00:57:02.927041+00:00
SN-X1    short    2018-01-18 00:58:11.372821+00:00
SN-X2    short    2018-01-18 01:17:35.251354+00:00
SN-X3    long_r    2018-01-18 01:37:02.154892+00:00
SN-S1    short    2018-01-19 00:58:20.251346+00:00
SN-C3    long_z    2018-01-27 01:18:32.189609+00:00
SN-X3    long_i    2018-02-03 01:15:33.702675+00:00
SN-C3    long_r    2018-02-04 01:54:02.145570+00:00
SN-C3    long_i    2018-02-04 02:17:16.825705+00:00
SN-C3    long_g    2018-02-05 01:54:32.742289+00:00
SN-C1    short    2018-02-05 02:07:38.889291+00:00
SN-C2    short    2018-02-05 02:27:02.504540+00:00

Useful links

Nightsum | CTIO Night Report | DECam Logbook
Tololo Environmental Web Page | Detailed hourly forecast | Satellite maps