Project

General

Profile

Nightly Observing Plan for MJD 56695 (starting evening of Feb 6, 2014)

Observers

Observer 1 Observer 2 Run Manager Assistant Run Manager SISPI Expert on Call
Alex Drlica-Wagner Steve Kent Steve Kent
ext. ext. ext.

CTIO staff (Telescope Operators)

Day Support Night Assistant
Hernan Tirado

DECam Configuration and Setup

SISPI Configuration File DES.ini
DECam constants DECAM:CURRENT
Proposal ID 2012B-0001
Image Processing (Calibration) NCSA
Image Processing (First Cut) NCSA

Almanac

mjd 56695, date 20140206, Site CTIO, UT-offset 3 hr
Current local time 15:04 CLST     UT 18:04     SidTim 22:29
Sunset     20:45 CLST  23:45 UT   SidTim   63 deg  
Eve. -10   21:23 CLST  00:23 UT   SidTim   72 deg  Zeropoint; standards
Eve. -14   21:43 CLST  00:43 UT   SidTim   77 deg  Begin obstac
Eve. -18   22:05 CLST  01:05 UT   SidTim   82 deg  Last chance standards
Moonset    01:16 CLST  04:16 UT   SidTim  130 deg  
Midpoint   01:57 CLST  04:57 UT   SidTim  140 deg  
Morn -18   05:50 CLST  08:50 UT   SidTim  199 deg  Begin astronomical twilight
Morn Std   06:11 CLST  09:11 UT   SidTim  204 deg  End obstac; begin standards
Morn -10   06:32 CLST  09:32 UT   SidTim  209 deg  
Sunrise    07:09 CLST  10:09 UT   SidTim  218 deg  
Moon position (deg): RA 50.2, Dec 17.2 Phase: 0.486

Weather Conditions

Clear
http://www.meteochile.gob.cl/cna/irsat_alta.png

Observing Plan and Goals for the Night

  1. Afternoon calibrations - script to use: prenight_calibration.json
  2. PTC scans script to use: **PTC_r.json
  3. Dark frames (20 x 100)
  4. Zeropoint check - preceed with zeros script: flush_Vsub.json
  5. Start of night standards (scripts listed below)
  6. Nightly out of focus image (right after last standard, no break) - script to use: defocus_nightly.json
  7. ObsTac
  8. Middle of night standard (scripts listed below)
  9. End of night calibrations - if good afternoon calibrations use postnight_calibration.json, otherwise use postnight_zeros_flats.json

Start of Night Standards - Wind screen down

E4-A                  ra 09:23:44  dec -45:21:02  secz 1.7 **DES_std_E4-a_Yzirg.json**
SDSSJ0200-0000        ra 02:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.5 **DES_std_SDSSJ0200_Yzirg.json**
SDSSJ0320-0000        ra 03:20:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.2 **DES_std_SDSSJ0320_Yzirg.json**

End of Night Standards - Wind screen down
UT 04:45
SDSSJ1227-0000        ra 12:27:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.8  **DES_std_SDSSJ1227_grizY.json**
SDSSJ1048-0000        ra 10:48:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.3  **DES_std_SDSSJ1048_grizY.json**
SDSSJ0933-0005        ra 09:33:00  dec -00:05:00  secz 1.2  **DES_std_SDSSJ0933_grizY.json**