Project

General

Profile

02052018

First-half night for DES

Observers

to get the names, check the shift table

  • Maria Elidaiana da Silva Pereira (Observer 2)
  • Stephanie Hamilton (Observer 1, RM)

CTIO Staff

To get the names, check the "staff calendar":* Staff calendar

  • Manuel Hernandez - Obs. Support
  • Claudio Aquilera - Operator

Almanac

forgotten how to do this? Use ephem with kentools

mjd 58155, date 20180205, Site CTIO, UT-offset 3 hr
Current local time 14:20 CLST     UT 17:20     SidTim 21:41
Event      Local-Time  Greenwich  Sidereal-Time
Sunset     20:46 CLST  23:46 UT   04:07   62 deg
Eve. -10   21:23 CLST  00:23 UT   04:45   71 deg  Zeropoint; standards
Eve. -14   21:44 CLST  00:44 UT   05:05   76 deg  Begin obstac
Eve. -18   22:05 CLST  01:05 UT   05:27   82 deg  Last chance standards
Moonrise   00:21 CLST  03:21 UT   07:42  116 deg
Midpoint   01:57 CLST  04:57 UT   09:18  140 deg
Morn -18   05:49 CLST  08:49 UT   13:10  198 deg  Begin astronomical twilight
Morn -14   06:10 CLST  09:10 UT   13:31  203 deg  End obstac; begin standards
Morn -10   06:31 CLST  09:31 UT   13:52  208 deg
Sunrise    07:08 CLST  10:08 UT   14:29  217 deg
Moon position (deg): RA 211.0, Dec -6.4 Phase: 0.619

Weather Conditions

  • at lunch: mostly clear, some clouds around horizon
  • Forecast is to be mostly clear

as predicted by hourly forecast

  • clouds: less than 10% for most of night, ~30% around switchover
  • humidity: 65-70%
  • temp: ~12°C expected
  • wind: light winds expected

Observing Plan and Goals for the Night

  • First half DES, second half non-DES
  • Evening standards (Yzirg)
  • Wide survey with obstac.
  • Middle-of-night standards, then handover to second-half observer at 1:57 local time.

forgotten how to do this? Use standards with kentools

  • 3 Evening standards
    Yzirg
UT Date = '2018/02/06 00:23'     Local time = 21:23
SDSSJ0100-0000        ra 01:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 2.1
SDSSJ0200-0000        ra 02:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.5
SDSSJ0320-0000        ra 03:20:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.2
  • 1 midpoint standard
    grizY
UT Date = '2018/02/06 04:50'     Local time = 01:50
SDSSJ1227-0000        ra 12:27:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.8

When were the last SN fields observed?

forgotten how to do this? Instructions here

hex_name    seqtype    last_complete
SN-X3    long_g    2018-01-15 02:17:19.554010+00:00
SN-E2    short    2018-01-16 00:59:34.787393+00:00
SN-S2    short    2018-01-16 02:08:01.691914+00:00
SN-X3    long_z    2018-01-17 00:57:02.927041+00:00
SN-X1    short    2018-01-18 00:58:11.372821+00:00
SN-X2    short    2018-01-18 01:17:35.251354+00:00
SN-X3    long_r    2018-01-18 01:37:02.154892+00:00
SN-S1    short    2018-01-19 00:58:20.251346+00:00
SN-C3    long_z    2018-01-27 01:18:32.189609+00:00
SN-X3    long_i    2018-02-03 01:15:33.702675+00:00
SN-C3    long_r    2018-02-04 01:54:02.145570+00:00
SN-C3    long_i    2018-02-04 02:17:16.825705+00:00
SN-C3    long_g    2018-02-05 01:54:32.742289+00:00
SN-C1    short    2018-02-05 02:07:38.889291+00:00
SN-C2    short    2018-02-05 02:27:02.504540+00:00

Useful links

Nightsum | CTIO Night Report | DECam Logbook
Tololo Environmental Web Page | Detailed hourly forecast | Satellite maps