Project

General

Profile

02/05/2017

Nightly Observing Plan for MJD 57790 (starting evening of Feb 5, 2017)

Half night

Observers

  • Marisa March (Obs 1)
  • Alex Drlica-Wagner (Obs 2, RM)

CTIO Staff

  • Hernán Tirado - Obs. Support
  • Rodrigo Hernandez - Operator
  • Staff calendar

Almanac

mjd 57790, date 20170205, Site CTIO, UT-offset 3 hr
Current local time 15:33 CLST     UT 18:33     SidTim 22:55
Sunset     20:46 CLST  23:46 UT   SidTim   62 deg  
Eve. -10   21:23 CLST  00:23 UT   SidTim   71 deg  Zeropoint; standards
Eve. -14   21:44 CLST  00:44 UT   SidTim   76 deg  Begin obstac
Eve. -18   22:05 CLST  01:05 UT   SidTim   82 deg  Last chance standards
Midpoint   01:57 CLST  04:57 UT   SidTim  140 deg  
Moonset    02:51 CLST  05:51 UT   SidTim  153 deg  
Morn -18   05:49 CLST  08:49 UT   SidTim  198 deg  Begin astronomical twilight
Morn Std   06:10 CLST  09:10 UT   SidTim  203 deg  End obstac; begin standards
Morn -10   06:31 CLST  09:31 UT   SidTim  208 deg  
Sunrise    07:09 CLST  10:09 UT   SidTim  218 deg  
Moon position (deg): RA 72.9, Dec 18.0 Phase: 0.616

Weather Conditions

Observing Plan and Goals for the Night

* Evening Standards: Yzirg.

UT Date = '2017/02/06 00:23'     Local time = 21:23
SDSSJ0100-0000        ra 01:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 2.1
SDSSJ0200-0000        ra 02:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.5
SDSSJ0320-0000        ra 03:20:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.2

* Obstac: Mostly wide field

* Cosmos field at 1:17 CT (4:17 UT)
  • If i-band PSF < 1.05", then short field COSMOS zY (cosmos_zY_fixed.json)
  • else, more wide field

* Swap with second-half observer at 01:50 CT (04:50 UT)
BE SURE TO CHANGE PROPID
* Midpoint standard (using calspec) use only 1 (highest airmass): grizY (expect 05:00)
BE SURE TO CHANGE PROPID

UT Date = '2017/02/06 05:00'     Local time = 02:00
SDSSJ1227-0000        ra 12:27:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.7

When were the last SN fields observed?

(See https://cdcvs.fnal.gov/redmine/projects/desops/wiki/When_were_the_SN_fields_last_observed for database query.)

hex_name    seqtype    last_complete
SN-X3    long_z    2017-01-26 00:55:51.528351+00:00
SN-E1    short    2017-01-27 00:53:18.591071+00:00
SN-X3    long_i    2017-01-27 01:33:32.157988+00:00
SN-E2    short    2017-01-28 00:53:06.852121+00:00
SN-X1    short    2017-01-28 01:14:15.665466+00:00
SN-X3    long_r    2017-01-28 01:33:29.425048+00:00
SN-X3    long_g    2017-01-29 01:04:14.492806+00:00
SN-S2    short    2017-01-29 01:17:20.589302+00:00
SN-S1    short    2017-01-29 01:36:41.706064+00:00
SN-C2    short    2017-01-31 00:48:51.012551+00:00
SN-C3    long_g    2017-01-31 01:12:08.842422+00:00
SN-C3    long_i    2017-01-31 01:33:23.812696+00:00
SN-C1    short    2017-02-05 00:47:39.788401+00:00
SN-X2    short    2017-02-05 01:07:52.108646+00:00
SN-C3    long_r    2017-02-05 01:28:05.676930+00:00
SN-C3    long_z    2017-02-05 01:56:37.995348+00:00

Notes from 4pm meeting

No meeting. Go ahead with COSMOS zY. Ok to do swap with second half observers.