Project

General

Profile

Nightly Observing Plan for MJD 56694 (starting evening of Feb 5, 2014)

Observers

Observer 1 Observer 2 Run Manager Assistant Run Manager SISPI Expert on Call
Alex Drlica-Wagner Steve Kent Steve Kent
ext. ext. ext.

CTIO staff (Telescope Operators)

Day Support Night Assistant
Esteban Parkes Hernan Tirado

DECam Configuration and Setup

SISPI Configuration File DES.ini
DECam constants DECAM:CURRENT
Proposal ID 2012B-0001
Image Processing (Calibration) NCSA
Image Processing (First Cut) NCSA

Almanac

mjd 56694, date 20140205, Site CTIO, UT-offset 3 hr
Current local time 02:35 CLST     UT 05:35     SidTim 09:56
Sunset     20:46 CLST  23:46 UT   SidTim   62 deg  
Eve. -10   21:24 CLST  00:24 UT   SidTim   71 deg  Zeropoint; standards
Eve. -14   21:44 CLST  00:44 UT   SidTim   76 deg  Begin obstac
Eve. -18   22:06 CLST  01:06 UT   SidTim   82 deg  Last chance standards
Moonset    00:33 CLST  03:33 UT   SidTim  118 deg  
Midpoint   01:57 CLST  04:57 UT   SidTim  140 deg  
Morn -18   05:49 CLST  08:49 UT   SidTim  198 deg  Begin astronomical twilight
Morn Std   06:10 CLST  09:10 UT   SidTim  203 deg  End obstac; begin standards
Morn -10   06:31 CLST  09:31 UT   SidTim  208 deg  
Sunrise    07:08 CLST  10:08 UT   SidTim  217 deg  
Moon position (deg): RA 37.3, Dec 14.6 Phase: 0.420

Weather Conditions

Clear
http://www.meteochile.gob.cl/cna/irsat_alta.png

Observing Plan and Goals for the Night

  1. Afternoon calibrations - script to use: prenight_calibration.json
  2. PTC scans script to use: **PTC_r.json
  3. Zeropoint check - preceed with zeros script: flush_Vsub.json
  4. Nightly defocus - script to use: defocus_nightly.json
  5. Start of night standards (scripts listed below)
  6. Nightly out of focus image (right after last standard, no break) - script to use: defocus_nightly.json
  7. ObsTac
  8. Middle of night standard (scripts listed below)
  9. End of night calibrations - if good afternoon calibrations use postnight_calibration.json, otherwise use postnight_zeros_flats.json

Start of Night Standards - Wind screen down

UT 00:24
SDSSJ0100-0000        ra 01:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 2.1 **DES_std_SDSSJ0100_Yzirg.json**
SDSSJ0200-0000        ra 02:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.5 **DES_std_SDSSJ0200_Yzirg.json**
SDSSJ0320-0000        ra 03:20:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.2 **DES_std_SDSSJ0320_Yzirg.json**

End of Night Standards - Wind screen down
UT 04:45
SDSSJ1227-0000        ra 12:27:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.8  **DES_std_SDSSJ1227_grizY.json**
SDSSJ1048-0000        ra 10:48:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.3  **DES_std_SDSSJ1048_grizY.json**
SDSSJ0843-0000        ra 08:43:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.2  **DES_std_SDSSJ0843_grizY.json**