Project

General

Profile

02042018 » History » Version 1

Stephanie Hamilton, 02/04/2018 10:53 AM

1 1 Stephanie Hamilton
h1. 02042018
2 1 Stephanie Hamilton
3 1 Stephanie Hamilton
First-half night for DES
4 1 Stephanie Hamilton
5 1 Stephanie Hamilton
h3. Observers
6 1 Stephanie Hamilton
7 1 Stephanie Hamilton
> to get the names, check the "shift table":https://cdcvs.fnal.gov/redmine/projects/desops/wiki/DESShiftsYr6
8 1 Stephanie Hamilton
9 1 Stephanie Hamilton
* Maria Elidaiana da Silva Pereira (Observer 2)
10 1 Stephanie Hamilton
* Stephanie Hamilton (Observer 1, RM)
11 1 Stephanie Hamilton
12 1 Stephanie Hamilton
13 1 Stephanie Hamilton
h3. CTIO Staff
14 1 Stephanie Hamilton
15 1 Stephanie Hamilton
> To get the names, check the "staff calendar":* "Staff calendar":http://www.ctio.noao.edu/cgi-bin/Calcium38.pl?Op=ShowIt&CalendarName=4m_Observing_Schedule
16 1 Stephanie Hamilton
17 1 Stephanie Hamilton
* Hernan Tirado - Obs. Support
18 1 Stephanie Hamilton
* Claudio Aquilera - Operator
19 1 Stephanie Hamilton
20 1 Stephanie Hamilton
h3. Almanac
21 1 Stephanie Hamilton
22 1 Stephanie Hamilton
> forgotten how to do this? Use ephem with "kentools":https://cdcvs.fnal.gov/redmine/projects/desops/wiki/Introduction_to_kentools
23 1 Stephanie Hamilton
24 1 Stephanie Hamilton
<pre>
25 1 Stephanie Hamilton
mjd 58154, date 20180204, Site CTIO, UT-offset 3 hr
26 1 Stephanie Hamilton
Current local time 13:47 CLST     UT 16:47     SidTim 21:04
27 1 Stephanie Hamilton
Event      Local-Time  Greenwich  Sidereal-Time
28 1 Stephanie Hamilton
Sunset     20:47 CLST  23:47 UT   04:04   61 deg
29 1 Stephanie Hamilton
Eve. -10   21:24 CLST  00:24 UT   04:41   70 deg  Zeropoint; standards
30 1 Stephanie Hamilton
Eve. -14   21:45 CLST  00:45 UT   05:02   76 deg  Begin obstac
31 1 Stephanie Hamilton
Eve. -18   22:06 CLST  01:06 UT   05:24   81 deg  Last chance standards
32 1 Stephanie Hamilton
Moonrise   23:45 CLST  02:45 UT   07:02  106 deg
33 1 Stephanie Hamilton
Midpoint   01:57 CLST  04:57 UT   09:14  138 deg
34 1 Stephanie Hamilton
Morn -18   05:48 CLST  08:48 UT   13:05  196 deg  Begin astronomical twilight
35 1 Stephanie Hamilton
Morn -14   06:09 CLST  09:09 UT   13:26  202 deg  End obstac; begin standards
36 1 Stephanie Hamilton
Morn -10   06:30 CLST  09:30 UT   13:47  207 deg
37 1 Stephanie Hamilton
Sunrise    07:07 CLST  10:07 UT   14:25  216 deg
38 1 Stephanie Hamilton
Moon position (deg): RA 198.7, Dec -2.1 Phase: 0.681
39 1 Stephanie Hamilton
</pre>
40 1 Stephanie Hamilton
41 1 Stephanie Hamilton
42 1 Stephanie Hamilton
h3. Weather Conditions
43 1 Stephanie Hamilton
44 1 Stephanie Hamilton
* at lunch: mostly clear, some clouds around horizon
45 1 Stephanie Hamilton
* Forecast is to be clear
46 1 Stephanie Hamilton
> "as predicted by hourly forecast":http://www.yr.no/place/Chile/Coquimbo/Observatorio_Astron%C3%B3mico_Cerro_Tololo/hour_by_hour_detailed.html
47 1 Stephanie Hamilton
 
48 1 Stephanie Hamilton
* clouds: 0% expected
49 1 Stephanie Hamilton
* humidity: 60% increasing to 70%
50 1 Stephanie Hamilton
* temp: ~12°C expected
51 1 Stephanie Hamilton
* wind:  light winds expected
52 1 Stephanie Hamilton
53 1 Stephanie Hamilton
h3. Observing Plan and Goals for the Night
54 1 Stephanie Hamilton
55 1 Stephanie Hamilton
* First half DES, second half non-DES
56 1 Stephanie Hamilton
* Evening standards (Yzirg)
57 1 Stephanie Hamilton
* Queue C3g, C1, C2, by hand with scripts from "this site":http://des-ops.fnal.gov:8080/prednight/index.html an hour after start. Obstac for remainder.
58 1 Stephanie Hamilton
* Middle-of-night standards, then handover to second-half observer at 1:57 local time.
59 1 Stephanie Hamilton
60 1 Stephanie Hamilton
> forgotten how to do this? Use standards with "kentools":https://cdcvs.fnal.gov/redmine/projects/desops/wiki/Introduction_to_kentools
61 1 Stephanie Hamilton
62 1 Stephanie Hamilton
* 3 Evening standards 
63 1 Stephanie Hamilton
Yzirg
64 1 Stephanie Hamilton
65 1 Stephanie Hamilton
<pre>
66 1 Stephanie Hamilton
UT Date = '2018/02/05 00:24'     Local time = 21:24
67 1 Stephanie Hamilton
SDSSJ0100-0000        ra 01:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 2.0
68 1 Stephanie Hamilton
SDSSJ0200-0000        ra 02:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.5
69 1 Stephanie Hamilton
SDSSJ0320-0000        ra 03:20:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.2
70 1 Stephanie Hamilton
</pre>
71 1 Stephanie Hamilton
72 1 Stephanie Hamilton
* 1 midpoint standard
73 1 Stephanie Hamilton
grizY 
74 1 Stephanie Hamilton
75 1 Stephanie Hamilton
<pre>
76 1 Stephanie Hamilton
UT Date = '2018/02/05 04:50'     Local time = 01:50
77 1 Stephanie Hamilton
SDSSJ1048-0000        ra 10:48:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.3
78 1 Stephanie Hamilton
</pre>
79 1 Stephanie Hamilton
80 1 Stephanie Hamilton
h3. When were the last SN fields observed?
81 1 Stephanie Hamilton
82 1 Stephanie Hamilton
> forgotten how to do this? "Instructions here":https://cdcvs.fnal.gov/redmine/projects/desops/wiki/When_were_the_SN_fields_last_observed
83 1 Stephanie Hamilton
84 1 Stephanie Hamilton
<pre>
85 1 Stephanie Hamilton
hex_name	seqtype	last_complete
86 1 Stephanie Hamilton
SN-E1	short	2018-01-15 01:08:05.835460+00:00
87 1 Stephanie Hamilton
SN-X3	long_g	2018-01-15 02:17:19.554010+00:00
88 1 Stephanie Hamilton
SN-E2	short	2018-01-16 00:59:34.787393+00:00
89 1 Stephanie Hamilton
SN-S2	short	2018-01-16 02:08:01.691914+00:00
90 1 Stephanie Hamilton
SN-X3	long_z	2018-01-17 00:57:02.927041+00:00
91 1 Stephanie Hamilton
SN-X1	short	2018-01-18 00:58:11.372821+00:00
92 1 Stephanie Hamilton
SN-X2	short	2018-01-18 01:17:35.251354+00:00
93 1 Stephanie Hamilton
SN-X3	long_r	2018-01-18 01:37:02.154892+00:00
94 1 Stephanie Hamilton
SN-S1	short	2018-01-19 00:58:20.251346+00:00
95 1 Stephanie Hamilton
SN-C3	long_g	2018-01-25 01:45:39.472472+00:00
96 1 Stephanie Hamilton
SN-C1	short	2018-01-25 01:58:42.486085+00:00
97 1 Stephanie Hamilton
SN-C2	short	2018-01-25 02:18:10.917778+00:00
98 1 Stephanie Hamilton
SN-C3	long_z	2018-01-27 01:18:32.189609+00:00
99 1 Stephanie Hamilton
SN-X3	long_i	2018-02-03 01:15:33.702675+00:00
100 1 Stephanie Hamilton
SN-C3	long_r	2018-02-04 01:54:02.145570+00:00
101 1 Stephanie Hamilton
SN-C3	long_i	2018-02-04 02:17:16.825705+00:00
102 1 Stephanie Hamilton
</pre>
103 1 Stephanie Hamilton
104 1 Stephanie Hamilton
h3. Useful links
105 1 Stephanie Hamilton
  
106 1 Stephanie Hamilton
"Nightsum":http://des-ops.fnal.gov:8080/nightsum/ | "CTIO Night Report":http://www.ctio.noao.edu/noao/node/add/night-report | "DECam Logbook":http://system1.ctio.noao.edu:8080/ECL/decam/E/index
107 1 Stephanie Hamilton
"Tololo Environmental Web Page":http://139.229.115.231/web/tololo_frame.html | "Detailed hourly forecast":http://www.yr.no/place/Chile/Coquimbo/Observatorio_Astron%C3%B3mico_Cerro_Tololo/hour_by_hour_detailed.html | "Satellite maps":http://139.229.115.231/web/world_sat.php