Project

General

Profile

02042018

First-half night for DES

Observers

to get the names, check the shift table

  • Maria Elidaiana da Silva Pereira (Observer 2)
  • Stephanie Hamilton (Observer 1, RM)

CTIO Staff

To get the names, check the "staff calendar":* Staff calendar

  • Hernan Tirado - Obs. Support
  • Claudio Aquilera - Operator

Almanac

forgotten how to do this? Use ephem with kentools

mjd 58154, date 20180204, Site CTIO, UT-offset 3 hr
Current local time 13:47 CLST     UT 16:47     SidTim 21:04
Event      Local-Time  Greenwich  Sidereal-Time
Sunset     20:47 CLST  23:47 UT   04:04   61 deg
Eve. -10   21:24 CLST  00:24 UT   04:41   70 deg  Zeropoint; standards
Eve. -14   21:45 CLST  00:45 UT   05:02   76 deg  Begin obstac
Eve. -18   22:06 CLST  01:06 UT   05:24   81 deg  Last chance standards
Moonrise   23:45 CLST  02:45 UT   07:02  106 deg
Midpoint   01:57 CLST  04:57 UT   09:14  138 deg
Morn -18   05:48 CLST  08:48 UT   13:05  196 deg  Begin astronomical twilight
Morn -14   06:09 CLST  09:09 UT   13:26  202 deg  End obstac; begin standards
Morn -10   06:30 CLST  09:30 UT   13:47  207 deg
Sunrise    07:07 CLST  10:07 UT   14:25  216 deg
Moon position (deg): RA 198.7, Dec -2.1 Phase: 0.681

Weather Conditions

  • at lunch: mostly clear, some clouds around horizon
  • Forecast is to be clear

as predicted by hourly forecast

  • clouds: 0% expected
  • humidity: 60% increasing to 70%
  • temp: ~12°C expected
  • wind: light winds expected

Observing Plan and Goals for the Night

  • First half DES, second half non-DES
  • Evening standards (Yzirg)
  • Queue C3g, C1, C2, by hand with scripts from this site an hour after start. Obstac for remainder.
  • Middle-of-night standards, then handover to second-half observer at 1:57 local time.

forgotten how to do this? Use standards with kentools

  • 3 Evening standards
    Yzirg
UT Date = '2018/02/05 00:24'     Local time = 21:24
SDSSJ0100-0000        ra 01:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 2.0
SDSSJ0200-0000        ra 02:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.5
SDSSJ0320-0000        ra 03:20:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.2
  • 1 midpoint standard
    grizY
UT Date = '2018/02/05 04:50'     Local time = 01:50
SDSSJ1048-0000        ra 10:48:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.3

When were the last SN fields observed?

forgotten how to do this? Instructions here

hex_name    seqtype    last_complete
SN-E1    short    2018-01-15 01:08:05.835460+00:00
SN-X3    long_g    2018-01-15 02:17:19.554010+00:00
SN-E2    short    2018-01-16 00:59:34.787393+00:00
SN-S2    short    2018-01-16 02:08:01.691914+00:00
SN-X3    long_z    2018-01-17 00:57:02.927041+00:00
SN-X1    short    2018-01-18 00:58:11.372821+00:00
SN-X2    short    2018-01-18 01:17:35.251354+00:00
SN-X3    long_r    2018-01-18 01:37:02.154892+00:00
SN-S1    short    2018-01-19 00:58:20.251346+00:00
SN-C3    long_g    2018-01-25 01:45:39.472472+00:00
SN-C1    short    2018-01-25 01:58:42.486085+00:00
SN-C2    short    2018-01-25 02:18:10.917778+00:00
SN-C3    long_z    2018-01-27 01:18:32.189609+00:00
SN-X3    long_i    2018-02-03 01:15:33.702675+00:00
SN-C3    long_r    2018-02-04 01:54:02.145570+00:00
SN-C3    long_i    2018-02-04 02:17:16.825705+00:00

Useful links

Nightsum | CTIO Night Report | DECam Logbook
Tololo Environmental Web Page | Detailed hourly forecast | Satellite maps