Project

General

Profile

02/04/2017

Nightly Observing Plan for MJD 57789 (starting evening of Feb 4, 2017)

Half night

Observers

  • Marisa March (Obs 1)
  • Alex Drlica-Wagner (Obs 2, RM)

CTIO Staff

  • Hernán Tirado - Obs. Support
  • Rodrigo Hernandez - Operator
  • Staff calendar

Almanac

mjd 57789, date 20170204, Site CTIO, UT-offset 3 hr
Current local time 15:27 CLST     UT 18:27     SidTim 22:46
Sunset     20:46 CLST  23:46 UT   SidTim   61 deg  
Eve. -10   21:24 CLST  00:24 UT   SidTim   70 deg  Zeropoint; standards
Eve. -14   21:45 CLST  00:45 UT   SidTim   76 deg  Begin obstac
Eve. -18   22:06 CLST  01:06 UT   SidTim   81 deg  Last chance standards
Midpoint   01:57 CLST  04:57 UT   SidTim  139 deg  
Moonset    02:00 CLST  05:00 UT   SidTim  140 deg  
Morn -18   05:48 CLST  08:48 UT   SidTim  196 deg  Begin astronomical twilight
Morn Std   06:09 CLST  09:09 UT   SidTim  202 deg  End obstac; begin standards
Morn -10   06:30 CLST  09:30 UT   SidTim  207 deg  
Sunrise    07:08 CLST  10:08 UT   SidTim  216 deg  
Moon position (deg): RA 58.2, Dec 15.5 Phase: 0.540

Weather Conditions

  • Cloudy this morning (lower cumulus and high cirrus), starting to clear in the afternoon (supposed to clear by sunset). Looks like a front moving through to the south.
  • Detailed hourly forecast | Satellite maps

Observing Plan and Goals for the Night

* Evening Standards: Yzirg.

UT Date = '2017/02/05 00:24'     Local time = 21:24
SDSSJ0100-0000        ra 01:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 2.0
SDSSJ0200-0000        ra 02:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.5
SDSSJ0320-0000        ra 03:20:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.2

* Obstac: Mostly wide field
* Cosmos field around 1:20 CT (4:20 UT)
  • g-band deep 1 if g<1.1" (cosmos_gdeep_1.json)
  • If i-band deep if i<1.0" (cosmos_ideep_1.json)
  • If not, then short field zY if i < 1.05" (cosmos_zY_fixed.json)
  • else, more wide field

* Half Night standards (using calspec) use only 1 (highest airmass): grizY

UT Date = '2017/02/05 04:50'     Local time = 01:50
SDSSJ1227-0000        ra 12:27:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.8

When were the last SN fields observed?

(See https://cdcvs.fnal.gov/redmine/projects/desops/wiki/When_were_the_SN_fields_last_observed for database query.)

hex_name    seqtype    last_complete
SN-X3    long_z    2017-01-26 00:55:51.528351+00:00
SN-E1    short    2017-01-27 00:53:18.591071+00:00
SN-X2    short    2017-01-27 01:14:13.977544+00:00
SN-X3    long_i    2017-01-27 01:33:32.157988+00:00
SN-E2    short    2017-01-28 00:53:06.852121+00:00
SN-X1    short    2017-01-28 01:14:15.665466+00:00
SN-X3    long_r    2017-01-28 01:33:29.425048+00:00
SN-X3    long_g    2017-01-29 01:04:14.492806+00:00
SN-S2    short    2017-01-29 01:17:20.589302+00:00
SN-S1    short    2017-01-29 01:36:41.706064+00:00
SN-C3    long_r    2017-01-29 01:57:12.786249+00:00
SN-C3    long_z    2017-01-29 02:20:30.702561+00:00
SN-C2    short    2017-01-31 00:48:51.012551+00:00
SN-C3    long_g    2017-01-31 01:12:08.842422+00:00
SN-C3    long_i    2017-01-31 01:33:23.812696+00:00
SN-C1    short    2017-01-31 02:22:33.431244+00:00

Notes from 4pm meeting

No meeting.