Project

General

Profile

Nightly Observing Plan for MJD 56693 (starting evening of Feb 4, 2014)

Observers

Observer 1 Observer 2 Run Manager Assistant Run Manager SISPI Expert on Call
Alex Drlica-Wagner Steve Kent Steve Kent
ext. ext. ext.

CTIO staff (Telescope Operators)

Day Support Night Assistant
Hernan Tirado

DECam Configuration and Setup

SISPI Configuration File DES.ini
DECam constants DECAM:CURRENT
Proposal ID 2012B-0001
Image Processing (Calibration) NCSA
Image Processing (First Cut) NCSA

Almanac

mjd 56693, date 20140204, Site CTIO, UT-offset 3 hr
Current local time 11:54 CLST     UT 14:54     SidTim 19:11
Sunset     20:47 CLST  23:47 UT   SidTim   61 deg  
Eve. -10   21:24 CLST  00:24 UT   SidTim   70 deg  Zeropoint; standards
Eve. -14   21:45 CLST  00:45 UT   SidTim   76 deg  Begin obstac
Eve. -18   22:07 CLST  01:07 UT   SidTim   81 deg  Last chance standards
Moonset    23:53 CLST  02:53 UT   SidTim  108 deg  
Midpoint   01:57 CLST  04:57 UT   SidTim  138 deg  
Morn -18   05:48 CLST  08:48 UT   SidTim  196 deg  Begin astronomical twilight
Morn Std   06:09 CLST  09:09 UT   SidTim  202 deg  End obstac; begin standards
Morn -10   06:30 CLST  09:30 UT   SidTim  207 deg  
Sunrise    07:07 CLST  10:07 UT   SidTim  216 deg  
Moon position (deg): RA 24.5, Dec 11.3 Phase: 0.353

Weather Conditions

Clear
http://www.meteochile.gob.cl/cna/irsat_alta.png

Observing Plan and Goals for the Night

  1. Afternoon calibrations - script to use: prenight_calibration.json
  2. PTC scans script to use: **PTC_r.json
  3. Zeropoint check - preceed with zeros script: flush_Vsub.json
  4. Nightly defocus - script to use: defocus_nightly.json
  5. Start of night standards (scripts listed below)
  6. Nightly out of focus image (right after last standard, no break) - script to use: defocus_nightly.json
  7. ObsTac
  8. Middle of night standard (scripts listed below)
  9. End of night calibrations - if good afternoon calibrations use postnight_calibration.json, otherwise use postnight_zeros_flats.json

Start of Night Standards - Wind screen down

UT 00:24
E4-A                  ra 09:23:44  dec -45:21:02  secz 1.8 **DES_std_e4a_Yzirg.json**
E1-A                  ra 01:24:50  dec -44:33:40  secz 1.3 **DES_std_e1a_Yzirg.json**
SDSSJ0320-0000        ra 03:20:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.2 **DES_std_SDSSJ0320_Yzirg.json**

End of Night Standards - Wind screen down
UT 04:45
SDSSJ1227-0000        ra 12:27:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.8  **DES_std_SDSSJ1227_grizY.json**
SDSSJ1048-0000        ra 10:48:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.3  **DES_std_SDSSJ1048_grizY.json**
SDSSJ0843-0000        ra 08:43:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.2  **DES_std_SDSSJ0843_grizY.json**