Project

General

Profile

02032018 » History » Version 1

Version 1/2 - Next » - Current version
Stephanie Hamilton, 02/03/2018 09:16 AM


02032018

First-half night for DES

Observers

to get the names, check the shift table

  • Maria Elidaiana da Silva Pereira (Observer 1)
  • Stephanie Hamilton (Observer 2, RM)

CTIO Staff

To get the names, check the "staff calendar":* Staff calendar

  • Hernan Tirado - Obs. Support
  • Claudio Aquilera - Operator

Almanac

forgotten how to do this? Use ephem with kentools

mjd 58153, date 20180203, Site CTIO, UT-offset 3 hr
Current local time 12:09 CLST     UT 15:09     SidTim 19:22
Event      Local-Time  Greenwich  Sidereal-Time
Sunset     20:47 CLST  23:47 UT   04:00   60 deg
Eve. -10   21:25 CLST  00:25 UT   04:38   70 deg  Zeropoint; standards
Eve. -14   21:46 CLST  00:46 UT   04:59   75 deg  Begin obstac
Eve. -18   22:07 CLST  01:07 UT   05:21   80 deg  Last chance standards
Moonrise   23:08 CLST  02:08 UT   06:21   95 deg
Midpoint   01:57 CLST  04:57 UT   09:10  138 deg
Morn -18   05:46 CLST  08:46 UT   13:00  195 deg  Begin astronomical twilight
Morn -14   06:08 CLST  09:08 UT   13:21  200 deg  End obstac; begin standards
Morn -10   06:29 CLST  09:29 UT   13:42  206 deg
Sunrise    07:07 CLST  10:07 UT   14:20  215 deg
Moon position (deg): RA 186.0, Dec 2.6 Phase: 0.745

Weather Conditions

  • at lunch: clear
  • Forecast is to be clear

as predicted by hourly forecast

  • clouds: 0% expected
  • humidity: ~60% expected
  • temp: ~13°C expected
  • wind: light winds expected

Observing Plan and Goals for the Night

  • First half DES, second half non-DES
  • Evening standards (Yzirg)
  • Obstac: X3i at start. Wide survey (expect lots of Y,z-band)
  • Middle-of-night standards, then handover to community observer at 1:57 local time.

forgotten how to do this? Use standards with kentools

  • 3 Evening standards
    Yzirg
UT Date = '2018/02/04 00:25'     Local time = 21:25
SDSSJ0100-0000        ra 01:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 2.0
SDSSJ0200-0000        ra 02:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.5
SDSSJ0320-0000        ra 03:20:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.2
  • 1 midpoint standard
    grizY
UT Date = '2018/02/04 04:50'     Local time = 01:50
SDSSJ1048-0000        ra 10:48:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.3

When were the last SN fields observed?

forgotten how to do this? Instructions here

hex_name    seqtype    last_complete

hex_name    seqtype    last_complete
SN-E1    short    2018-01-15 01:08:05.835460+00:00
SN-X3    long_g    2018-01-15 02:17:19.554010+00:00
SN-E2    short    2018-01-16 00:59:34.787393+00:00
SN-S2    short    2018-01-16 02:08:01.691914+00:00
SN-X3    long_z    2018-01-17 00:57:02.927041+00:00
SN-X1    short    2018-01-18 00:58:11.372821+00:00
SN-X2    short    2018-01-18 01:17:35.251354+00:00
SN-X3    long_r    2018-01-18 01:37:02.154892+00:00
SN-S1    short    2018-01-19 00:58:20.251346+00:00
SN-C3    long_r    2018-01-23 01:26:21.235896+00:00
SN-C3    long_i    2018-01-24 01:09:41.315445+00:00
SN-C3    long_g    2018-01-25 01:45:39.472472+00:00
SN-C1    short    2018-01-25 01:58:42.486085+00:00
SN-C2    short    2018-01-25 02:18:10.917778+00:00
SN-C3    long_z    2018-01-27 01:18:32.189609+00:00
SN-X3    long_i    2018-02-03 01:15:33.702675+00:00

Useful links

Nightsum | CTIO Night Report | DECam Logbook
Tololo Environmental Web Page | Detailed hourly forecast | Satellite maps