Project

General

Profile

Nightly Observing Plan for MJD 56692 (starting evening of Feb 3, 2014)

Observers

Observer 1 Observer 2 Run Manager Assistant Run Manager SISPI Expert on Call
Alex Drlica-Wagner Steve Kent Steve Kent
ext. ext. ext.

CTIO staff (Telescope Operators)

Day Support Night Assistant

DECam Configuration and Setup

SISPI Configuration File DES.ini
DECam constants DECAM:CURRENT
Proposal ID 2012B-0001
Image Processing (Calibration) NCSA
Image Processing (First Cut) NCSA

Almanac

mjd 56692, date 20140203, Site CTIO, UT-offset 3 hr
Current local time 15:37 CLST     UT 18:37     SidTim 22:50
Sunset     20:47 CLST  23:47 UT   SidTim   60 deg  
Eve. -10   21:25 CLST  00:25 UT   SidTim   70 deg  Zeropoint; standards
Eve. -14   21:46 CLST  00:46 UT   SidTim   75 deg  Begin obstac
Eve. -18   22:07 CLST  01:07 UT   SidTim   80 deg  Last chance standards
Moonset    23:13 CLST  02:13 UT   SidTim   96 deg  
Midpoint   01:57 CLST  04:57 UT   SidTim  138 deg  
Morn -18   05:46 CLST  08:46 UT   SidTim  195 deg  Begin astronomical twilight
Morn Std   06:08 CLST  09:08 UT   SidTim  200 deg  End obstac; begin standards
Morn -10   06:29 CLST  09:29 UT   SidTim  206 deg  
Sunrise    07:07 CLST  10:07 UT   SidTim  215 deg  
Moon position (deg): RA 11.5, Dec 7.3 Phase: 0.285


h2. Weather Conditions

Clear
http://www.meteochile.gob.cl/cna/irsat_alta.png

Observing Plan and Goals for the Night

  1. Afternoon calibrations - script to use: prenight_calibration.json
  2. PTC scans script to use: **PTC_r.json
  3. Zeropoint check - preceed with zeros script: flush_Vsub.json
  4. Start of night standards (scripts listed below)
  5. Nightly out of focus image (right after last standard, no break) - script to use: defocus_nightly.json
  6. ObsTac
  7. Middle of night standard (scripts listed below)
  8. End of night calibrations - if good afternoon calibrations use postnight_calibration.json, otherwise use postnight_zeros_flats.json

Start of Night Standards - Wind screen down
UT Date = '2014/01/31 00:35' Local time = 21:35
SDSSJ0100-0000 ra 01:00:00 dec +00:00:00 secz 1.9 DES_std_SDSSJ0100_Yzirg.json
SDSSJ0200-0000 ra 02:00:00 dec +00:00:00 secz 1.5 DES_std_SDSSJ0200_Yzirg.json
SDSSJ0320-0000 ra 03:20:00 dec +00:00:00 secz 1.2 DES_std_SDSSJ0320_Yzirg.json

End of Night Standards - Wind screen down
UT Date = '2014/01/31 04:45' Local time = 01:37
SDSSJ1227-0000 ra 12:27:00 dec +00:00:00 secz 2.1 DES_std_SDSSJ1227_grizY.json
SDSSJ1048-0000 ra 10:48:00 dec +00:00:00 secz 1.4 DES_std_SDSSJ1048_grizY.json
SDSSJ0843-0000 ra 08:43:00 dec +00:00:00 secz 1.2 DES_std_SDSSJ0843_grizY.json