Project

General

Profile

02022018 » History » Version 3

Version 2 (Stephanie Hamilton, 02/02/2018 09:46 AM) → Version 3/4 (Stephanie Hamilton, 02/02/2018 01:13 PM)

h1. 02022018

First-half night for DES

h3. Observers

> to get the names, check the "shift table":https://cdcvs.fnal.gov/redmine/projects/desops/wiki/DESShiftsYr6

* Maria Elidaiana da Silva Pereira (Observer 1)
* Stephanie Hamilton (Observer 2, RM)

h3. CTIO Staff

> To get the names, check the "staff calendar":* "Staff calendar":http://www.ctio.noao.edu/cgi-bin/Calcium38.pl?Op=ShowIt&CalendarName=4m_Observing_Schedule

* Hernan Tirado - Obs. Support
* Claudio Aquilera - Operator

h3. Almanac

> forgotten how to do this? Use ephem with "kentools":https://cdcvs.fnal.gov/redmine/projects/desops/wiki/Introduction_to_kentools

<pre>
mjd 58152, date 20180202, Site CTIO, UT-offset 3 hr
Current local time 12:27 CLST UT 15:27 SidTim 19:36
Event Local-Time Greenwich Sidereal-Time
Sunset 20:48 CLST 23:48 UT 03:57 59 deg
Eve. -10 21:26 CLST 00:26 UT 04:35 69 deg Zeropoint; standards
Eve. -14 21:47 CLST 00:47 UT 04:56 74 deg Begin obstac
Eve. -18 22:08 CLST 01:08 UT 05:18 80 deg Last chance standards
Moonrise 22:29 CLST 01:29 UT 05:38 84 deg
Midpoint 01:57 CLST 04:57 UT 09:06 136 deg
Morn -18 05:45 CLST 08:45 UT 12:55 194 deg Begin astronomical twilight
Morn -14 06:07 CLST 09:07 UT 13:16 199 deg End obstac; begin standards
Morn -10 06:28 CLST 09:28 UT 13:37 204 deg
Sunrise 07:06 CLST 10:06 UT 14:15 214 deg
Moon position (deg): RA 172.7, Dec 7.3 Phase: 0.813
</pre>

h3. Weather Conditions

* at lunch: Scattered light clouds
* Forecast is to be clear
> "as predicted by hourly forecast":http://www.yr.no/place/Chile/Coquimbo/Observatorio_Astron%C3%B3mico_Cerro_Tololo/hour_by_hour_detailed.html

* clouds: 0% expected at start, increasing to ~70% around switchover
* humidity: ~55-60% expected
* temp: ~14°C expected
* wind: light winds expected

h3. Observing Plan and Goals for the Night

*EDIT AT 4pm MEETING*

* First half DES, second half non-DES
* Evening standards (Yzirg)
* Obstac: X3i at start. C3r on seeing trigger. Wide survey (expect lots of Y,z-band)
* Middle-of-night standards, then handover to community observer at 1:57 local time.

> forgotten how to do this? Use standards with "kentools":https://cdcvs.fnal.gov/redmine/projects/desops/wiki/Introduction_to_kentools

* 3 Evening standards
Yzirg

<pre>
UT Date = '2018/02/03 00:26' Local time = 21:26
SDSSJ0100-0000 ra 01:00:00 dec +00:00:00 secz 2.0
SDSSJ0200-0000 ra 02:00:00 dec +00:00:00 secz 1.5
SDSSJ0320-0000 ra 03:20:00 dec +00:00:00 secz 1.2
</pre>

* 1 midpoint standard
grizY

<pre>
UT Date = '2018/02/03 04:50' Local time = 01:50
SDSSJ0843-0000 ra 08:43:00 dec +00:00:00 secz 1.2
</pre>

h3. When were the last SN fields observed?

> forgotten how to do this? "Instructions here":https://cdcvs.fnal.gov/redmine/projects/desops/wiki/When_were_the_SN_fields_last_observed

<pre>
hex_name seqtype last_complete
SN-E1 short 2018-01-15 01:08:05.835460+00:00
SN-X3 long_g 2018-01-15 02:17:19.554010+00:00
SN-E2 short 2018-01-16 00:59:34.787393+00:00
SN-S2 short 2018-01-16 02:08:01.691914+00:00
SN-X3 long_z 2018-01-17 00:57:02.927041+00:00
SN-X1 short 2018-01-18 00:58:11.372821+00:00
SN-X2 short 2018-01-18 01:17:35.251354+00:00
SN-X3 long_r 2018-01-18 01:37:02.154892+00:00
SN-S1 short 2018-01-19 00:58:20.251346+00:00
SN-C3 long_r 2018-01-23 01:26:21.235896+00:00
SN-C3 long_i 2018-01-24 01:09:41.315445+00:00
SN-C3 long_g 2018-01-25 01:45:39.472472+00:00
SN-C1 short 2018-01-25 01:58:42.486085+00:00
SN-C2 short 2018-01-25 02:18:10.917778+00:00
SN-X3 long_i 2018-01-26 01:05:03.972779+00:00
SN-C3 long_z 2018-01-27 01:18:32.189609+00:00
</pre>

h3. Useful links

"Nightsum":http://des-ops.fnal.gov:8080/nightsum/ | "CTIO Night Report":http://www.ctio.noao.edu/noao/node/add/night-report | "DECam Logbook":http://system1.ctio.noao.edu:8080/ECL/decam/E/index
"Tololo Environmental Web Page":http://139.229.115.231/web/tololo_frame.html | "Detailed hourly forecast":http://www.yr.no/place/Chile/Coquimbo/Observatorio_Astron%C3%B3mico_Cerro_Tololo/hour_by_hour_detailed.html | "Satellite maps":http://139.229.115.231/web/world_sat.php