Project

General

Profile

02022018 » History » Version 2

« Previous - Version 2/4 (diff) - Next » - Current version
Stephanie Hamilton, 02/02/2018 09:46 AM


02022018

First-half night for DES

Observers

to get the names, check the shift table

  • Maria Elidaiana da Silva Pereira (Observer 1)
  • Stephanie Hamilton (Observer 2, RM)

CTIO Staff

To get the names, check the "staff calendar":* Staff calendar

  • Hernan Tirado - Obs. Support
  • Claudio Aquilera - Operator

Almanac

forgotten how to do this? Use ephem with kentools

mjd 58152, date 20180202, Site CTIO, UT-offset 3 hr
Current local time 12:27 CLST     UT 15:27     SidTim 19:36
Event      Local-Time  Greenwich  Sidereal-Time
Sunset     20:48 CLST  23:48 UT   03:57   59 deg
Eve. -10   21:26 CLST  00:26 UT   04:35   69 deg  Zeropoint; standards
Eve. -14   21:47 CLST  00:47 UT   04:56   74 deg  Begin obstac
Eve. -18   22:08 CLST  01:08 UT   05:18   80 deg  Last chance standards
Moonrise   22:29 CLST  01:29 UT   05:38   84 deg
Midpoint   01:57 CLST  04:57 UT   09:06  136 deg
Morn -18   05:45 CLST  08:45 UT   12:55  194 deg  Begin astronomical twilight
Morn -14   06:07 CLST  09:07 UT   13:16  199 deg  End obstac; begin standards
Morn -10   06:28 CLST  09:28 UT   13:37  204 deg
Sunrise    07:06 CLST  10:06 UT   14:15  214 deg
Moon position (deg): RA 172.7, Dec 7.3 Phase: 0.813

Weather Conditions

  • at lunch: Scattered light clouds
  • Forecast is to be clear

as predicted by hourly forecast

  • clouds: 0% expected at start, increasing to ~70% around switchover
  • humidity: ~55-60% expected
  • temp: ~14°C expected
  • wind: light winds expected

Observing Plan and Goals for the Night

EDIT AT 4pm MEETING

  • First half DES, second half non-DES
  • Evening standards (Yzirg)
  • Obstac: C3r on seeing trigger. Wide survey (expect lots of Y,z-band)
  • Middle-of-night standards, then handover to community observer at 1:57 local time.

forgotten how to do this? Use standards with kentools

  • 3 Evening standards
    Yzirg
UT Date = '2018/02/03 00:26'     Local time = 21:26
SDSSJ0100-0000        ra 01:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 2.0
SDSSJ0200-0000        ra 02:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.5
SDSSJ0320-0000        ra 03:20:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.2
  • 1 midpoint standard
    grizY
UT Date = '2018/02/03 04:50'     Local time = 01:50
SDSSJ0843-0000        ra 08:43:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.2

When were the last SN fields observed?

forgotten how to do this? Instructions here

hex_name    seqtype    last_complete
SN-E1    short    2018-01-15 01:08:05.835460+00:00
SN-X3    long_g    2018-01-15 02:17:19.554010+00:00
SN-E2    short    2018-01-16 00:59:34.787393+00:00
SN-S2    short    2018-01-16 02:08:01.691914+00:00
SN-X3    long_z    2018-01-17 00:57:02.927041+00:00
SN-X1    short    2018-01-18 00:58:11.372821+00:00
SN-X2    short    2018-01-18 01:17:35.251354+00:00
SN-X3    long_r    2018-01-18 01:37:02.154892+00:00
SN-S1    short    2018-01-19 00:58:20.251346+00:00
SN-C3    long_r    2018-01-23 01:26:21.235896+00:00
SN-C3    long_i    2018-01-24 01:09:41.315445+00:00
SN-C3    long_g    2018-01-25 01:45:39.472472+00:00
SN-C1    short    2018-01-25 01:58:42.486085+00:00
SN-C2    short    2018-01-25 02:18:10.917778+00:00
SN-X3    long_i    2018-01-26 01:05:03.972779+00:00
SN-C3    long_z    2018-01-27 01:18:32.189609+00:00

Useful links

Nightsum | CTIO Night Report | DECam Logbook
Tololo Environmental Web Page | Detailed hourly forecast | Satellite maps