Project

General

Profile

02/02/2017

Nightly Observing Plan for MJD 57787 (starting evening of Feb 2, 2017)

Half night

Observers

  • Marisa March (Obs 1)
  • Alex Drlica-Wagner (Obs 2, RM)

CTIO Staff

  • Hernán Tirado - Obs. Support
  • Claudio Aguilera - Operator
  • Staff calendar

Almanac

mjd 57787, date 20170202, Site CTIO, UT-offset 3 hr
Current local time 14:43 CLST     UT 17:43     SidTim 21:53
Sunset     20:48 CLST  23:48 UT   SidTim   60 deg  
Eve. -10   21:26 CLST  00:26 UT   SidTim   69 deg  Zeropoint; standards
Eve. -14   21:47 CLST  00:47 UT   SidTim   74 deg  Begin obstac
Eve. -18   22:08 CLST  01:08 UT   SidTim   80 deg  Last chance standards
Moonset    00:31 CLST  03:31 UT   SidTim  116 deg  
Midpoint   01:57 CLST  04:57 UT   SidTim  137 deg  
Morn -18   05:46 CLST  08:46 UT   SidTim  194 deg  Begin astronomical twilight
Morn Std   06:07 CLST  09:07 UT   SidTim  199 deg  End obstac; begin standards
Morn -10   06:28 CLST  09:28 UT   SidTim  204 deg  
Sunrise    07:06 CLST  10:06 UT   SidTim  214 deg  
Moon position (deg): RA 30.4, Dec 8.3 Phase: 0.395

Weather Conditions

Observing Plan and Goals for the Night

* Evening Standards: Yzirg.
UT Date = '2017/02/03 00:26'     Local time = 21:26
E4-A                  ra 09:23:44  dec -45:21:02  secz 1.8
E1-A                  ra 01:24:50  dec -44:33:40  secz 1.3
SDSSJ0320-0000        ra 03:20:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.2

* Obstac: Mostly wide field
* Cosmos field around 1:15 CT (4:15 UT)
  • r-band deep 2 if seeing in r < 1.0" (cosmos_rdeep_2.json)
  • If not, then g-band deep 1 if g<1.1" (cosmos_gdeep_1.json)
  • If not, then i-band deep if i<1.0" (cosmos_ideep_1.json)
  • If not, then short field zY if i < 1.05" (cosmos_zY_fixed.json)

* Half Night standards (using calspec) use only 1 (highest airmass): grizY

UT Date = '2017/02/03 04:50'     Local time = 01:50
SDSSJ1227-0000        ra 12:27:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.9

Should we be taking u-band standards? NO!

When were the last SN fields observed?

(See https://cdcvs.fnal.gov/redmine/projects/desops/wiki/When_were_the_SN_fields_last_observed for database query.)

hex_name    seqtype    last_complete
SN-X3    long_z    2017-01-26 00:55:51.528351+00:00
SN-E1    short    2017-01-27 00:53:18.591071+00:00
SN-X2    short    2017-01-27 01:14:13.977544+00:00
SN-X3    long_i    2017-01-27 01:33:32.157988+00:00
SN-E2    short    2017-01-28 00:53:06.852121+00:00
SN-X1    short    2017-01-28 01:14:15.665466+00:00
SN-X3    long_r    2017-01-28 01:33:29.425048+00:00
SN-X3    long_g    2017-01-29 01:04:14.492806+00:00
SN-S2    short    2017-01-29 01:17:20.589302+00:00
SN-S1    short    2017-01-29 01:36:41.706064+00:00
SN-C3    long_r    2017-01-29 01:57:12.786249+00:00
SN-C3    long_z    2017-01-29 02:20:30.702561+00:00
SN-C2    short    2017-01-31 00:48:51.012551+00:00
SN-C3    long_g    2017-01-31 01:12:08.842422+00:00
SN-C3    long_i    2017-01-31 01:33:23.812696+00:00
SN-C1    short    2017-01-31 02:22:33.431244+00:00

Notes from 4pm meeting

Run Manager's Meeting Feb. 02, 2017
-----------------------------------
Alex, Marisa, Rich K, HTD, Hernan, Eric N, Bobby B, Finley

Camera & Telescope
------------------
No Problems. Flats underway.
Michael Warner was up top looking at the damper for the telescope slew. Nothing done today.
The concern is to find ways to improve settling. Some issue with slewing from E/W fixed
during 2nd half. Telescope was better balanced for tonight.

Last Night
----------
http://des-ops.fnal.gov:8080/nightsum/nightsum-2017-02-01/nightsum.html

Lost 17 minutes. 615513 & 615514 are to be called bad. 615515 DNE. 615516 and 7 no vsub.

Did the 1st r-band cosmos deep.

The team recorded bragging rights for the highest t-eff exposure.

We did not do any tile 6 shots last night.

DESDM & DQ
----------
Got all the data except 513 & 514. All processed but one, 495. The Cosmos exposures have
been given an unknown quality status. Eric N to declare 513-517 bad-enough so Obstac will
redo them (discard flag set to .true.).

615120 does have 2 different background levels. But it does seem to be the same piece of sky
on both backplanes. The exposure before, 615119, is in the same ra/dec as 120. 615120 has
a high sky background and an extinction of -0.26 mags. Steve rates it as bad.

615133, around the time of the earthquake, has 5% ellipticity while neighbors have 1%.
It's OK.

615076 tile 6 g-band is good. This shot seems to be a repeater.

No report from Photo-z group on Cosmos DQ
Forecast
--------
Looks good.
No C-field SN to be forced tonight. Need to do C3z before the long break.

No TOO. Obstac.

Cosmos plan is same as last night.
Tonight do an r-band 2nd script if psf < 1.0",
If not, then g-band if better than 1.1",
Then if not, then i-band if better 1.0",
Then if not, then short field zY if better than 1.05" in i-band.

AOB
---
Some of the calspec SS fields have "exptype" = object. This is not what we intend.

Rasicam was cleaned. Some smutz removed.

Wildlife report: 1 small zorro

WoD: not even close