Project

General

Profile

Nightly Observing Plan for MJD 56690 (starting evening of Feb 1, 2014)

Observers

Observer 1 Observer 2 Run Manager Assistant Run Manager SISPI Expert on Call
Alex Drlica-Wagner Steve Kent Steve Kent
ext. ext. ext.

CTIO staff (Telescope Operators)

Day Support Night Assistant
Javier Rojas Manuel Hernández

DECam Configuration and Setup

SISPI Configuration File DES.ini
DECam constants DECAM:CURRENT
Proposal ID 2012B-0001
Image Processing (Calibration) NCSA
Image Processing (First Cut) NCSA

Almanac
mjd 56690, date 20140201, Site CTIO, UT-offset 3 hr
Current local time 14:10 CLST     UT 17:10     SidTim 21:16
Sunset     20:49 CLST  23:49 UT   SidTim   58 deg  
Eve. -10   21:27 CLST  00:27 UT   SidTim   68 deg  Zeropoint; standards
Eve. -14   21:48 CLST  00:48 UT   SidTim   73 deg  Begin obstac
Moonset    21:52 CLST  00:52 UT   SidTim   74 deg  
Eve. -18   22:09 CLST  01:09 UT   SidTim   79 deg  Last chance standards
Midpoint   01:57 CLST  04:57 UT   SidTim  136 deg  
Morn -18   05:44 CLST  08:44 UT   SidTim  192 deg  Begin astronomical twilight
Morn Std   06:06 CLST  09:06 UT   SidTim  198 deg  End obstac; begin standards
Morn -10   06:27 CLST  09:27 UT   SidTim  203 deg  
Sunrise    07:05 CLST  10:05 UT   SidTim  212 deg  
Moon position (deg): RA 344.9, Dec -1.8 Phase: 0.145

Weather Conditions

Mostly Clear
http://www.meteochile.gob.cl/cna/irsat_alta.png

Observing Plan and Goals for the Night

  1. Afternoon calibrations - script to use: prenight_calibration.json
  2. Zeropoint check - preceed with zeros script: flush_Vsub.json
  3. Start of night standards (scripts listed below)
  4. Nightly out of focus image (right after last standard, no break) - script to use: defocus_nightly.json
  5. ObsTac
  6. Middle of night standard (scripts listed below)
  7. End of night calibrations - if good afternoon calibrations use postnight_calibration.json, otherwise use postnight_zeros_flats.json

Start of Night Standards MANUAL SLEW TO THESE FIELDS Wind screen down
UT Date = '2014/01/31 00:35' Local time = 21:35
SDSSJ0100-0000 ra 01:00:00 dec +00:00:00 secz 1.9 DES_std_SDSSJ0100_Yzirg.json
SDSSJ0200-0000 ra 02:00:00 dec +00:00:00 secz 1.5 DES_std_SDSSJ0200_Yzirg.json
SDSSJ0320-0000 ra 03:20:00 dec +00:00:00 secz 1.2 DES_std_SDSSJ0320_Yzirg.json

End of Night Standards MANUAL SLEW TO THESE FIELDS Wind screen down
UT Date = '2014/01/31 04:45' Local time = 01:37
SDSSJ1227-0000 ra 12:27:00 dec +00:00:00 secz 2.1 DES_std_SDSSJ1227_grizY.json
SDSSJ1048-0000 ra 10:48:00 dec +00:00:00 secz 1.4 DES_std_SDSSJ1048_grizY.json
SDSSJ0843-0000 ra 08:43:00 dec +00:00:00 secz 1.2 DES_std_SDSSJ0843_grizY.json