Project

General

Profile

01312015

Nightly Observing Plan for MJD 57054 (starting evening of Jan 31, 2015)

DES has the first half of the night. Switchover occurs at the midpoint of the night, which is at 01:57 CLST (04:57UT).

Observers

  • Josh Frieman (observer 1)
  • Andrew Nadolski (observer 2)
  • Yuanyuan Zhang (run manager)

CTIO Staff

  • Leonardo Paredes
  • Manuel Hernandez

Almanac

mjd 57054, date 20150131, Site CTIO, UT-offset 3 hr
Current local time 12:56 CLST     UT 15:56     SidTim 19:56
Sunset     20:49 CLST  23:49 UT   SidTim   58 deg  
Eve. -10   21:28 CLST  00:28 UT   SidTim   67 deg  Zeropoint; standards
Eve. -14   21:49 CLST  00:49 UT   SidTim   72 deg  Begin obstac
Eve. -18   22:10 CLST  01:10 UT   SidTim   78 deg  Last chance standards
Midpoint   01:57 CLST  04:57 UT   SidTim  134 deg  
Moonset    05:09 CLST  08:09 UT   SidTim  182 deg  
Morn -18   05:43 CLST  08:43 UT   SidTim  191 deg  Begin astronomical twilight
Morn Std   06:04 CLST  09:04 UT   SidTim  196 deg  End obstac; begin standards
Morn -10   06:26 CLST  09:26 UT   SidTim  202 deg  
Sunrise    07:04 CLST  10:04 UT   SidTim  211 deg  
Moon position (deg): RA 101.4, Dec 18.6 Phase: 0.808

Weather Conditions
Light winds, thin clouds, medium humidity
http://www.yr.no/place/Chile/Coquimbo/Observatorio_Astron%C3%B3mico_Cerro_Tololo/hour_by_hour_detailed.html
http://139.229.115.231/web/world_sat.php

Observing Plan and Goals for the Night

  • Start of night standards [Yzirg ordered scripts]
    UT Date = '2015/02/01 00:28'     Local time = 21:28
    
    SDSSJ0100-0000        ra 01:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.9
    SDSSJ0200-0000        ra 02:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.4
    SDSSJ0320-0000        ra 03:20:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.2
    
  • Pre-hand over standards (chose best option) [grizY ordered scripts]
    UT Date = '2015/02/01 04:47'     Local time = 01:47
    SDSSJ1227-0000        ra 12:27:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 2.0
    SDSSJ1048-0000        ra 10:48:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.3
    SDSSJ0843-0000        ra 08:43:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.2
    
  • Start of night standards
  • Obstac
  • Middle-of-night standard, then handover to community team