Project

General

Profile

01302017

Nightly Observing Plan for MJD 57784 (starting evening of Jan 30, 2017)

Half night

Observers

  • Ting Li (Obs 1)
  • Sebastian Bocquet (Obs 2, RM)

CTIO Staff

  • Hernán Tirado - Obs. Support
  • Alberto Alvarez - Operator
  • Staff calendar

Almanac

mjd 57784, date 20170130, Site CTIO, UT-offset 3 hr
Current local time 17:12 CLST     UT 20:12     SidTim 00:10
Sunset     20:50 CLST  23:50 UT   SidTim   57 deg  
Eve. -10   21:28 CLST  00:28 UT   SidTim   66 deg  Zeropoint; standards
Eve. -14   21:49 CLST  00:49 UT   SidTim   72 deg  Begin obstac
Eve. -18   22:11 CLST  01:11 UT   SidTim   77 deg  Last chance standards
Moonset    22:33 CLST  01:33 UT   SidTim   83 deg  
Midpoint   01:56 CLST  04:56 UT   SidTim  134 deg  
Morn -18   05:42 CLST  08:42 UT   SidTim  190 deg  Begin astronomical twilight
Morn Std   06:04 CLST  09:04 UT   SidTim  196 deg  End obstac; begin standards
Morn -10   06:25 CLST  09:25 UT   SidTim  201 deg  
Sunrise    07:03 CLST  10:03 UT   SidTim  210 deg  
Moon position (deg): RA 351.3, Dec -4.7 Phase: 0.192

Weather Conditions

Observing Plan and Goals for the Night

* Evening Standards: Yzirg.

UT Date = '2017/01/31 00:28'     Local time = 21:28
SDSSJ0100-0000        ra 01:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.9
SDSSJ0200-0000        ra 02:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.4
SDSSJ0320-0000        ra 03:20:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.2

* Obstac: Mostly wide field
* If the seeing in i-band is better than 1.05", we will do cosmos-gri-part2.json around 1:15 CT (4:15 UT)
* Half Night standards (using calspec) use only 1 (highest airmass): grizY
UT Date = '2017/01/31 04:52'     Local time = 01:52
SDSSJ1227-0000        ra 12:27:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 2.0

When were the last SN fields observed?

(See https://cdcvs.fnal.gov/redmine/projects/desops/wiki/When_were_the_SN_fields_last_observed for database query.)

hex_name     seqtype     last_complete
SN-C2    short    2017-01-25 02:56:16.703510+00:00
SN-X3    long_z    2017-01-26 00:55:51.528351+00:00
SN-C3    long_i    2017-01-26 02:04:26.628135+00:00
SN-C3    long_g    2017-01-26 02:55:50.457207+00:00
SN-C1    short    2017-01-26 03:25:41.054570+00:00
SN-E1    short    2017-01-27 00:53:18.591071+00:00
SN-X2    short    2017-01-27 01:14:13.977544+00:00
SN-X3    long_i    2017-01-27 01:33:32.157988+00:00
SN-E2    short    2017-01-28 00:53:06.852121+00:00
SN-X1    short    2017-01-28 01:14:15.665466+00:00
SN-X3    long_r    2017-01-28 01:33:29.425048+00:00
SN-X3    long_g    2017-01-29 01:04:14.492806+00:00
SN-S2    short    2017-01-29 01:17:20.589302+00:00
SN-S1    short    2017-01-29 01:36:41.706064+00:00
SN-C3    long_r    2017-01-29 01:57:12.786249+00:00
SN-C3    long_z    2017-01-29 02:20:30.702561+00:00

Notes from 4pm meeting (at 4:30)

-----------------------------------
HTD, Ann Elliott, Eric N, Bobby B, Dave F, Josh, Sahar, Doug, Michael and Francisko
Ting, Sebastian, Hernan, Yanny

Camera & Telescope
------------------
No problems, flats are running.

Last 3 Nights
-------------
http://des-ops.fnal.gov:8080/nightsum/nightsum-2017-01-27/nightsum.html
http://des-ops.fnal.gov:8080/nightsum/nightsum-2017-01-28/nightsum.html
http://des-ops.fnal.gov:8080/nightsum/nightsum-2017-01-29/nightsum.html

E2, X1, X3r
C3r, C3z, S1, S2, X3g
Problems:
Trouble starting SISPI yesterday resolved by Ann and Klaus
Chrome locked up 3 times last night.

1st half of gri in Cosmos field is finished. 614492 to 614506.

It looks like the 2nd half observers didn't successfully change the propid
until well into their data-taking. Please put in the exposures into queue
after change propid. That can be before SS are finished.

DESDM & DQ
-----------
Got all the data.
SN all good.
WF had a database issue from Saturday so 15 aren't finished.

Tonight
--------
Weather pretty good.
C2 is on deadman 5. Plenty SN on DM 3 to 5.
If decent seeing then zY for 5 minutes, then switch to gri
At about 1:05 AM local time start cosmos 2nd half.

SDSS1227, returned by Calspec, is the mid-point SS seq for tonight.

AOB
----
Please keep track of how many times Chrome fails in a night.

Rasicam and the other aux machines are working fine.

Wildlife report: sun-worshiping viscachas and a 2-3' black snake.

Mountaintop on backup generator probably until tomorrow.

4 o’clock meeting is at 4 o’clock tomorrow.

WoD: Watch out for mountain lions.