Project

General

Profile

01302015

Nightly Observing Plan for MJD 57053 (starting evening of Jan 30, 2015)

DES has the first half of the night. Switchover occurs at the midpoint of the night, which is at 01:56 CLST (04:56UT).

Observers

  • Josh Frieman (observer 1)
  • Andrew Nadolski (observer 2)
  • Yuanyuan Zhang (run manager)

CTIO Staff

  • Leonardo Paredes
  • Manuel Hernandez

Almanac

mjd 57053, date 20150130, Site CTIO, UT-offset 3 hr
Current local time 13:22 CLST     UT 16:22     SidTim 20:19
Sunset     20:50 CLST  23:50 UT   SidTim   56 deg  
Eve. -10   21:28 CLST  00:28 UT   SidTim   66 deg  Zeropoint; standards
Eve. -14   21:49 CLST  00:49 UT   SidTim   72 deg  Begin obstac
Eve. -18   22:11 CLST  01:11 UT   SidTim   77 deg  Last chance standards
Midpoint   01:56 CLST  04:56 UT   SidTim  133 deg  
Moonset    04:17 CLST  07:17 UT   SidTim  168 deg  
Morn -18   05:41 CLST  08:41 UT   SidTim  190 deg  Begin astronomical twilight
Morn Std   06:03 CLST  09:03 UT   SidTim  195 deg  End obstac; begin standards
Morn -10   06:24 CLST  09:24 UT   SidTim  200 deg  
Sunrise    07:03 CLST  10:03 UT   SidTim  210 deg  
Moon position (deg): RA 88.2, Dec 19.1 Phase: 0.740

Weather Conditions
Light winds, no clouds, haze on the horizon, medium humidity
http://www.yr.no/place/Chile/Coquimbo/Observatorio_Astron%C3%B3mico_Cerro_Tololo/hour_by_hour_detailed.html
http://139.229.115.231/web/world_sat.php

Observing Plan and Goals for the Night

  • Start of night standards [Yzirg ordered scripts]
    UT Date = '2015/01/31 00:28'     Local time = 21:28
    SDSSJ0100-0000        ra 01:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.8
    SDSSJ0200-0000        ra 02:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.4
    SDSSJ0320-0000        ra 03:20:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.2
    
  • Pre-hand over standards (chose best option) [grizY ordered scripts]
    UT Date = '2015/01/31 04:46'     Local time = 01:46
    SDSSJ1227-0000        ra 12:27:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 2.1
    SDSSJ1048-0000        ra 10:48:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.4
    SDSSJ0843-0000        ra 08:43:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.2
    
  • Start of night standards
  • Obstac
  • Middle-of-night standard, then handover to community team