Project

General

Profile

01292015

Nightly Observing Plan for MJD 57052 (starting evening of Jan 29, 2015)

DES has the first half of the night. Switchover occurs at the midpoint of the night, which is at 01:56 CLST (04:56UT).

Observers

  • Andrew Nadolski (observer 1)
  • Josh Frieman (observer 2)
  • Yuanyuan Zhang (run manager)

CTIO Staff

  • Leonardo Paredes
  • Manuel Hernandez

Almanac

mjd 57052, date 20150129, Site CTIO, UT-offset 3 hr
Current local time 12:54 CLST     UT 15:54     SidTim 19:46
Sunset     20:51 CLST  23:51 UT   SidTim   56 deg  
Eve. -10   21:29 CLST  00:29 UT   SidTim   65 deg  Zeropoint; standards
Eve. -14   21:50 CLST  00:50 UT   SidTim   71 deg  Begin obstac
Eve. -18   22:12 CLST  01:12 UT   SidTim   76 deg  Last chance standards
Midpoint   01:56 CLST  04:56 UT   SidTim  132 deg  
Moonset    03:27 CLST  06:27 UT   SidTim  155 deg  
Morn -18   05:40 CLST  08:40 UT   SidTim  188 deg  Begin astronomical twilight
Morn Std   06:02 CLST  09:02 UT   SidTim  194 deg  End obstac; begin standards
Morn -10   06:23 CLST  09:23 UT   SidTim  199 deg  
Sunrise    07:02 CLST  10:02 UT   SidTim  208 deg  
Moon position (deg): RA 74.8, Dec 18.8 Phase: 0.671

Weather Conditions
Light winds, clear skies, high humidity
http://www.yr.no/place/Chile/Coquimbo/Observatorio_Astron%C3%B3mico_Cerro_Tololo/hour_by_hour_detailed.html
http://139.229.115.231/web/world_sat.php

Observing Plan and Goals for the Night

  • Start of night standards [Yzirg ordered scripts]
    UT Date = '2015/01/30 00:29'     Local time = 21:29
    SDSSJ0100-0000        ra 01:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.8
    SDSSJ0200-0000        ra 02:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.4
    SDSSJ0320-0000        ra 03:20:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.2
    
  • Pre-hand over standards (chose best option) [grizY ordered scripts]
    UT Date = '2015/01/30 04:47'     Local time = 01:47
    E2-A                  ra 04:03:00  dec -44:41:45  secz 1.7
    SDSSJ1048-0000        ra 10:48:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.4
    SDSSJ0843-0000        ra 08:43:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.2
    
  • Start of night standards
  • Obstac
  • Middle-of-night standard, then handover to community team