Project

General

Profile

01282017

Nightly Observing Plan for MJD 57782 (starting evening of Jan 28, 2017)

Half night

Observers

  • Sebastian Bocquet (Obs 1)
  • Ting Li (Obs 2, RM)

CTIO Staff

  • Manuel Hernández - Obs. Support
  • Alberto Alvarez - Operator
  • Staff calendar

Almanac

mjd 57782, date 20170128, Site CTIO, UT-offset 3 hr
Current local time 15:56 CLST     UT 18:56     SidTim 22:47
Sunset     20:51 CLST  23:51 UT   SidTim   55 deg  
Moonset    21:13 CLST  00:13 UT   SidTim   61 deg  
Eve. -10   21:29 CLST  00:29 UT   SidTim   65 deg  Zeropoint; standards
Eve. -14   21:51 CLST  00:51 UT   SidTim   70 deg  Begin obstac
Eve. -18   22:13 CLST  01:13 UT   SidTim   76 deg  Last chance standards
Midpoint   01:56 CLST  04:56 UT   SidTim  132 deg  
Morn -18   05:40 CLST  08:40 UT   SidTim  188 deg  Begin astronomical twilight
Morn Std   06:02 CLST  09:02 UT   SidTim  193 deg  End obstac; begin standards
Morn -10   06:23 CLST  09:23 UT   SidTim  198 deg  
Sunrise    07:01 CLST  10:01 UT   SidTim  208 deg  
Moon position (deg): RA 325.7, Dec -12.1 Phase: 0.059

Weather Conditions

Observing Plan and Goals for the Night

* Standards today.

UT Date = '2017/01/28 00:35'     Local time = 21:35
SDSSJ0100-0000        ra 01:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.8
SDSSJ0200-0000        ra 02:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.4
SDSSJ0320-0000        ra 03:20:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.2

* Obstac: Mostly wide field
* If the seeing in i-band is better than 1.05", we will do cosmos-gri-part1.json around 1:15 CT (4:15 UT)
* Half Night standards (using calspec) use only 1 (highest airmass): grizY

UT Date = '2017/01/29 04:51'     Local time = 01:51
SDSSJ1227-0000        ra 12:27:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 2.1

When were the last SN fields observed?

(See https://cdcvs.fnal.gov/redmine/projects/desops/wiki/When_were_the_SN_fields_last_observed for database query.)

hex_name     seqtype     last_complete
SN-X3    long_g    2017-01-25 00:55:40.621331+00:00
SN-S2    short    2017-01-25 01:09:01.663537+00:00
SN-S1    short    2017-01-25 01:28:23.589929+00:00
SN-C3    long_z    2017-01-25 01:49:06.611492+00:00
SN-C2    short    2017-01-25 02:56:16.703510+00:00
SN-C3    long_r    2017-01-25 03:15:30.498296+00:00
SN-X3    long_z    2017-01-26 00:55:51.528351+00:00
SN-C3    long_i    2017-01-26 02:04:26.628135+00:00
SN-C3    long_g    2017-01-26 02:55:50.457207+00:00
SN-C1    short    2017-01-26 03:25:41.054570+00:00
SN-E1    short    2017-01-27 00:53:18.591071+00:00
SN-X2    short    2017-01-27 01:14:13.977544+00:00
SN-X3    long_i    2017-01-27 01:33:32.157988+00:00
SN-E2    short    2017-01-28 00:53:06.852121+00:00
SN-X1    short    2017-01-28 01:14:15.665466+00:00
SN-X3    long_r    2017-01-28 01:33:29.425048+00:00

Notes from 4pm meeting

No 4pm meeting today