Project

General

Profile

Nightly Observing Plan for MJD 56686 (starting evening of Jan 28, 2014)

Observers

Observer 1 Observer 2 Run Manager Assistant Run Manager SISPI Expert on Call
Tomek Kacprzak David Gerdes David Gerdes
ext. 511 ext. 512 ext. 512

CTIO staff (Telescope Operators)

Day Support Night Assistant
Manuel Hernández Claudio Aguilera

DECam Configuration and Setup

SISPI Configuration File DES.ini
DECam constants DECAM:CURRENT
Proposal ID 2012B-0001
Image Processing (Calibration) NCSA
Image Processing (First Cut) NCSA

Almanac
mjd 56686, date 20140128, Site CTIO, UT-offset 3 hr
Current local time 11:59 CLST     UT 14:59     SidTim 18:49
Sunset     20:51 CLST  23:51 UT   SidTim   55 deg  
Eve. -10   21:30 CLST  00:30 UT   SidTim   65 deg  Zeropoint; standards
Eve. -14   21:51 CLST  00:51 UT   SidTim   70 deg  Begin obstac
Eve. -18   22:13 CLST  01:13 UT   SidTim   76 deg  Last chance standards
Midpoint   01:56 CLST  04:56 UT   SidTim  132 deg  
Morn -18   05:39 CLST  08:39 UT   SidTim  187 deg  Begin astronomical twilight
Moonrise   05:40 CLST  08:40 UT   SidTim  188 deg  
Morn Std   06:01 CLST  09:01 UT   SidTim  193 deg  End obstac; begin standards
Morn -10   06:23 CLST  09:23 UT   SidTim  198 deg  
Sunrise    07:01 CLST  10:01 UT   SidTim  208 deg  
Moon position (deg): RA 286.1, Dec -17.1 Phase: 0.165

Weather Conditions

Clear, low humidity
http://www.meteochile.gob.cl/cna/irsat_alta.png

Observing Plan and Goals for the Night

  1. Afternoon calibrations - script to use: prenight_calibration.json
  2. Zeropoint check - preceed with zeros script: flush_Vsub.json
  3. Start of night standards (scripts listed below)
  4. Nightly out of focus image (right after last standard, no break) - script to use: defocus_nightly.json
  5. ObsTac
  6. Middle of night standard (scripts listed below)
  7. End of night calibrations - if good afternoon calibrations use postnight_calibration.json, otherwise use postnight_zeros_flats.json

Start of Night Standards MANUAL SLEW TO THESE FIELDS Wind screen down
UT Date = '2014/01/28 00:38' Local time = 21:38
SDSSJ0100-0000 ra 01:00:00 dec +00:00:00 secz 1.9 DES_std_SDSSJ0100_Yzirg.json
SDSSJ0200-0000 ra 02:00:00 dec +00:00:00 secz 1.4 DES_std_SDSSJ0200_Yzirg.json
SDSSJ0320-0000 ra 03:20:00 dec +00:00:00 secz 1.2 DES_std_SDSSJ0320_Yzirg.json

End of Night Standards MANUAL SLEW TO THESE FIELDS Wind screen down
UT Date = '2014/01/28 04:51' Local time = 01:51
E2-A ra 04:03:00 dec -44:41:45 secz 1.7 DES_e2a_grizY.json