Project

General

Profile

01272018 » History » Version 1

David Gerdes, 01/27/2018 08:24 AM

1 1 David Gerdes
h1. 01272018
2 1 David Gerdes
3 1 David Gerdes
First-half night for DES
4 1 David Gerdes
5 1 David Gerdes
h3. Observers
6 1 David Gerdes
7 1 David Gerdes
> to get the names, check the "shift table":https://cdcvs.fnal.gov/redmine/projects/desops/wiki/DESShiftsYr6
8 1 David Gerdes
9 1 David Gerdes
* Alfredo Zenteno (Observer1)
10 1 David Gerdes
* David Gerdes (Observer2/Run Manager)
11 1 David Gerdes
12 1 David Gerdes
13 1 David Gerdes
h3. CTIO Staff
14 1 David Gerdes
15 1 David Gerdes
> To get the names, check the "staff calendar":* "Staff calendar":http://www.ctio.noao.edu/cgi-bin/Calcium38.pl?Op=ShowIt&CalendarName=4m_Observing_Schedule
16 1 David Gerdes
17 1 David Gerdes
* Manuel Hernandez - Obs. Support
18 1 David Gerdes
* Jaqueline Seron - Operator
19 1 David Gerdes
20 1 David Gerdes
h3. Almanac
21 1 David Gerdes
22 1 David Gerdes
> forgotten how to do this? Use ephem with "kentools":https://cdcvs.fnal.gov/redmine/projects/desops/wiki/Introduction_to_kentools
23 1 David Gerdes
24 1 David Gerdes
<pre>
25 1 David Gerdes
mjd 58146, date 20180127, Site CTIO, UT-offset 3 hr
26 1 David Gerdes
Current local time 11:19 CLST     UT 14:19     SidTim 18:05
27 1 David Gerdes
Event      Local-Time  Greenwich  Sidereal-Time
28 1 David Gerdes
Sunset     20:52 CLST  23:52 UT   03:37   54 deg  
29 1 David Gerdes
Eve. -10   21:30 CLST  00:30 UT   04:16   64 deg  Zeropoint; standards
30 1 David Gerdes
Eve. -14   21:51 CLST  00:51 UT   04:37   69 deg  Begin obstac
31 1 David Gerdes
Eve. -18   22:14 CLST  01:14 UT   04:59   75 deg  Last chance standards
32 1 David Gerdes
Midpoint   01:56 CLST  04:56 UT   08:42  130 deg  
33 1 David Gerdes
Moonset    03:54 CLST  06:54 UT   10:40  160 deg  
34 1 David Gerdes
Morn -18   05:38 CLST  08:38 UT   12:24  186 deg  Begin astronomical twilight
35 1 David Gerdes
Morn -14   06:00 CLST  09:00 UT   12:46  192 deg  End obstac; begin standards
36 1 David Gerdes
Morn -10   06:22 CLST  09:22 UT   13:07  197 deg  
37 1 David Gerdes
Sunrise    07:00 CLST  10:00 UT   13:46  206 deg  
38 1 David Gerdes
Moon position (deg): RA 80.2, Dec 19.6 Phase: 0.709
39 1 David Gerdes
</pre>
40 1 David Gerdes
41 1 David Gerdes
42 1 David Gerdes
h3. Weather Conditions
43 1 David Gerdes
44 1 David Gerdes
* at lunch: Scattered light clouds
45 1 David Gerdes
* Forecast is to be clear
46 1 David Gerdes
> "as predicted by hourly forecast":http://www.yr.no/place/Chile/Coquimbo/Observatorio_Astron%C3%B3mico_Cerro_Tololo/hour_by_hour_detailed.html
47 1 David Gerdes
 
48 1 David Gerdes
* clouds: 0% expected
49 1 David Gerdes
* humidity: ~50% expected
50 1 David Gerdes
* temp: ~14°C expected
51 1 David Gerdes
* wind:  light winds expected
52 1 David Gerdes
53 1 David Gerdes
h3. Observing Plan and Goals for the Night
54 1 David Gerdes
55 1 David Gerdes
* First half DES, second half non-DES
56 1 David Gerdes
* Evening standards (Yzirg)
57 1 David Gerdes
* Obstac: C3r on seeing trigger. Wide survey (expect lots of Y,z-band)
58 1 David Gerdes
* Middle-of-night standards, then handover to community observer at 1:56 local time.
59 1 David Gerdes
60 1 David Gerdes
> forgotten how to do this? Use standards with "kentools":https://cdcvs.fnal.gov/redmine/projects/desops/wiki/Introduction_to_kentools
61 1 David Gerdes
62 1 David Gerdes
* 3 Evening standards 
63 1 David Gerdes
Yzirg
64 1 David Gerdes
65 1 David Gerdes
<pre>
66 1 David Gerdes
UT Date = '2018/01/27 00:30'     Local time = 21:30
67 1 David Gerdes
SDSSJ0100-0000        ra 01:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.8
68 1 David Gerdes
SDSSJ0200-0000        ra 02:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.4
69 1 David Gerdes
SDSSJ0320-0000        ra 03:20:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.2
70 1 David Gerdes
</pre>
71 1 David Gerdes
72 1 David Gerdes
* 1 midpoint standard
73 1 David Gerdes
grizY 
74 1 David Gerdes
75 1 David Gerdes
<pre>
76 1 David Gerdes
UT Date = '2018/01/27 04:50'     Local time = 01:50
77 1 David Gerdes
SDSSJ1048-0000        ra 10:48:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.4
78 1 David Gerdes
prompt> 
79 1 David Gerdes
80 1 David Gerdes
</pre>
81 1 David Gerdes
82 1 David Gerdes
h3. When were the last SN fields observed?
83 1 David Gerdes
84 1 David Gerdes
> forgotten how to do this? "Instructions here":https://cdcvs.fnal.gov/redmine/projects/desops/wiki/When_were_the_SN_fields_last_observed
85 1 David Gerdes
86 1 David Gerdes
<pre>
87 1 David Gerdes
88 1 David Gerdes
hex_name	seqtype	last_complete
89 1 David Gerdes
SN-E1	short	2018-01-15 01:08:05.835460+00:00
90 1 David Gerdes
SN-X3	long_g	2018-01-15 02:17:19.554010+00:00
91 1 David Gerdes
SN-E2	short	2018-01-16 00:59:34.787393+00:00
92 1 David Gerdes
SN-S2	short	2018-01-16 02:08:01.691914+00:00
93 1 David Gerdes
SN-X3	long_z	2018-01-17 00:57:02.927041+00:00
94 1 David Gerdes
SN-X1	short	2018-01-18 00:58:11.372821+00:00
95 1 David Gerdes
SN-X2	short	2018-01-18 01:17:35.251354+00:00
96 1 David Gerdes
SN-X3	long_r	2018-01-18 01:37:02.154892+00:00
97 1 David Gerdes
SN-S1	short	2018-01-19 00:58:20.251346+00:00
98 1 David Gerdes
SN-C3	long_r	2018-01-23 01:26:21.235896+00:00
99 1 David Gerdes
SN-C3	long_i	2018-01-24 01:09:41.315445+00:00
100 1 David Gerdes
SN-C3	long_g	2018-01-25 01:45:39.472472+00:00
101 1 David Gerdes
SN-C1	short	2018-01-25 01:58:42.486085+00:00
102 1 David Gerdes
SN-C2	short	2018-01-25 02:18:10.917778+00:00
103 1 David Gerdes
SN-X3	long_i	2018-01-26 01:05:03.972779+00:00
104 1 David Gerdes
SN-C3	long_z	2018-01-27 01:18:32.189609+00:00
105 1 David Gerdes
106 1 David Gerdes
</pre>
107 1 David Gerdes
108 1 David Gerdes
h3. Useful links
109 1 David Gerdes
  
110 1 David Gerdes
"Nightsum":http://des-ops.fnal.gov:8080/nightsum/ | "CTIO Night Report":http://www.ctio.noao.edu/noao/node/add/night-report | "DECam Logbook":http://system1.ctio.noao.edu:8080/ECL/decam/E/index
111 1 David Gerdes
"Tololo Environmental Web Page":http://139.229.115.231/web/tololo_frame.html | "Detailed hourly forecast":http://www.yr.no/place/Chile/Coquimbo/Observatorio_Astron%C3%B3mico_Cerro_Tololo/hour_by_hour_detailed.html | "Satellite maps":http://139.229.115.231/web/world_sat.php