Project

General

Profile

01272018

First-half night for DES

Observers

to get the names, check the shift table

  • Alfredo Zenteno (Observer1)
  • David Gerdes (Observer2/Run Manager)

CTIO Staff

To get the names, check the "staff calendar":* Staff calendar

  • Manuel Hernandez - Obs. Support
  • Jaqueline Seron - Operator

Almanac

forgotten how to do this? Use ephem with kentools

mjd 58146, date 20180127, Site CTIO, UT-offset 3 hr
Current local time 11:19 CLST     UT 14:19     SidTim 18:05
Event      Local-Time  Greenwich  Sidereal-Time
Sunset     20:52 CLST  23:52 UT   03:37   54 deg  
Eve. -10   21:30 CLST  00:30 UT   04:16   64 deg  Zeropoint; standards
Eve. -14   21:51 CLST  00:51 UT   04:37   69 deg  Begin obstac
Eve. -18   22:14 CLST  01:14 UT   04:59   75 deg  Last chance standards
Midpoint   01:56 CLST  04:56 UT   08:42  130 deg  
Moonset    03:54 CLST  06:54 UT   10:40  160 deg  
Morn -18   05:38 CLST  08:38 UT   12:24  186 deg  Begin astronomical twilight
Morn -14   06:00 CLST  09:00 UT   12:46  192 deg  End obstac; begin standards
Morn -10   06:22 CLST  09:22 UT   13:07  197 deg  
Sunrise    07:00 CLST  10:00 UT   13:46  206 deg  
Moon position (deg): RA 80.2, Dec 19.6 Phase: 0.709

Weather Conditions

  • at lunch: Scattered light clouds
  • Forecast is to be clear

as predicted by hourly forecast

  • clouds: 0% expected
  • humidity: ~50% expected
  • temp: ~14°C expected
  • wind: light winds expected

Observing Plan and Goals for the Night

  • First half DES, second half non-DES
  • Evening standards (Yzirg)
  • Obstac: C3r on seeing trigger. Wide survey (expect lots of Y,z-band)
  • Middle-of-night standards, then handover to community observer at 1:56 local time.

forgotten how to do this? Use standards with kentools

  • 3 Evening standards
    Yzirg
UT Date = '2018/01/27 00:30'     Local time = 21:30
SDSSJ0100-0000        ra 01:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.8
SDSSJ0200-0000        ra 02:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.4
SDSSJ0320-0000        ra 03:20:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.2
  • 1 midpoint standard
    grizY
UT Date = '2018/01/27 04:50'     Local time = 01:50
SDSSJ1048-0000        ra 10:48:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.4
prompt> 

When were the last SN fields observed?

forgotten how to do this? Instructions here


hex_name    seqtype    last_complete
SN-E1    short    2018-01-15 01:08:05.835460+00:00
SN-X3    long_g    2018-01-15 02:17:19.554010+00:00
SN-E2    short    2018-01-16 00:59:34.787393+00:00
SN-S2    short    2018-01-16 02:08:01.691914+00:00
SN-X3    long_z    2018-01-17 00:57:02.927041+00:00
SN-X1    short    2018-01-18 00:58:11.372821+00:00
SN-X2    short    2018-01-18 01:17:35.251354+00:00
SN-X3    long_r    2018-01-18 01:37:02.154892+00:00
SN-S1    short    2018-01-19 00:58:20.251346+00:00
SN-C3    long_r    2018-01-23 01:26:21.235896+00:00
SN-C3    long_i    2018-01-24 01:09:41.315445+00:00
SN-C3    long_g    2018-01-25 01:45:39.472472+00:00
SN-C1    short    2018-01-25 01:58:42.486085+00:00
SN-C2    short    2018-01-25 02:18:10.917778+00:00
SN-X3    long_i    2018-01-26 01:05:03.972779+00:00
SN-C3    long_z    2018-01-27 01:18:32.189609+00:00

Useful links

Nightsum | CTIO Night Report | DECam Logbook
Tololo Environmental Web Page | Detailed hourly forecast | Satellite maps