Project

General

Profile

01272015

Nightly Observing Plan for MJD 57050 (starting evening of Jan 27, 2015)

DES has the first half of the night. Switchover occurs at the midpoint of the night, which is at 01:56 CLST (04:56UT).

Observers

  • Andrew Nadolski (observer 1)
  • Josh Frieman (observer 2)
  • Yuanyuan Zhang (run manager)

CTIO Staff

  • Claudio Aguilera
  • Javier Rojas

Almanac

mjd 57050, date 20150127, Site CTIO, UT-offset 3 hr
Current local time 12:21 CLST     UT 15:21     SidTim 19:05
Sunset     20:52 CLST  23:52 UT   SidTim   54 deg  
Eve. -10   21:30 CLST  00:30 UT   SidTim   64 deg  Zeropoint; standards
Eve. -14   21:52 CLST  00:52 UT   SidTim   69 deg  Begin obstac
Eve. -18   22:14 CLST  01:14 UT   SidTim   74 deg  Last chance standards
Moonset    01:53 CLST  04:53 UT   SidTim  129 deg  
Midpoint   01:56 CLST  04:56 UT   SidTim  130 deg  
Morn -18   05:38 CLST  08:38 UT   SidTim  186 deg  Begin astronomical twilight
Morn Std   06:00 CLST  09:00 UT   SidTim  191 deg  End obstac; begin standards
Morn -10   06:21 CLST  09:21 UT   SidTim  196 deg  
Sunrise    07:00 CLST  10:00 UT   SidTim  206 deg  
Moon position (deg): RA 47.9, Dec 15.3 Phase: 0.532

Weather Conditions
Light winds, clear skies, high humidity
http://www.yr.no/place/Chile/Coquimbo/Observatorio_Astron%C3%B3mico_Cerro_Tololo/hour_by_hour_detailed.html
http://139.229.115.231/web/world_sat.php

Observing Plan and Goals for the Night

  • Start of night standards [Yzirg ordered scripts]
    UT Date = '2015/01/28 00:30'     Local time = 21:30
    SDSSJ0100-0000        ra 01:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.7
    SDSSJ0200-0000        ra 02:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.4
    SDSSJ0320-0000        ra 03:20:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.2
    
  • Pre-hand over standards (chose best option) [grizY ordered scripts]
    UT Date = '2015/01/28 04:50'     Local time = 01:50
    ** E2-A                  ra 04:03:00  dec -44:41:45  secz 1.7
    SDSSJ1048-0000        ra 10:48:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.4
    SDSSJ0843-0000        ra 08:43:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.2
    
  • Start of night standards
  • Obstac
  • Middle-of-night standard, then handover to community team