Project

General

Profile

Nightly Observing Plan for MJD 56685 (starting evening of Jan 27, 2014)

Observers

Observer 1 Observer 2 Run Manager Assistant Run Manager SISPI Expert on Call
Tomek Kacprzak David Gerdes David Gerdes
ext. 511 ext. 512 ext. 512

CTIO staff (Telescope Operators)

Day Support Night Assistant
Manuel Hernández Claudio Aguilera

DECam Configuration and Setup

SISPI Configuration File DES.ini
DECam constants DECAM:CURRENT
Proposal ID 2012B-0001
Image Processing (Calibration) NCSA
Image Processing (First Cut) NCSA

Almanac
mjd 56685, date 20140127, Site CTIO, UT-offset 3 hr
Current local time 12:36 CLST     UT 15:36     SidTim 19:22
Sunset     20:52 CLST  23:52 UT   SidTim   54 deg  
Eve. -10   21:30 CLST  00:30 UT   SidTim   64 deg  Zeropoint; standards
Eve. -14   21:51 CLST  00:51 UT   SidTim   69 deg  Begin obstac
Eve. -18   22:14 CLST  01:14 UT   SidTim   75 deg  Last chance standards
Midpoint   01:56 CLST  04:56 UT   SidTim  130 deg  
Moonrise   04:34 CLST  07:34 UT   SidTim  170 deg  
Morn -18   05:38 CLST  08:38 UT   SidTim  186 deg  Begin astronomical twilight
Morn Std   06:00 CLST  09:00 UT   SidTim  192 deg  End obstac; begin standards
Morn -10   06:22 CLST  09:22 UT   SidTim  197 deg  
Sunrise    07:00 CLST  10:00 UT   SidTim  206 deg  
Moon position (deg): RA 270.5, Dec -18.5 Phase: 0.245

Weather Conditions

Clear, hazy, humid
http://www.meteochile.gob.cl/cna/irsat_alta.png

Observing Plan and Goals for the Night

  1. Afternoon calibrations - script to use: prenight_calibration.json
  2. Zeropoint check - preceed with zeros script: flush_Vsub.json
  3. Start of night standards (scripts listed below)
  4. Nightly out of focus image (right after last standard, no break) - script to use: defocus_nightly.json
  5. ObsTac
  6. Middle of night standard (scripts listed below)
  7. End of night calibrations - if good afternoon calibrations use postnight_calibration.json, otherwise use postnight_zeros_flats.json

will update below later in the afternoon
Start of Night Standards MANUAL SLEW TO THESE FIELDS Wind screen down
UT Date = '2014/01/27 00:38' Local time = 21:38
SDSSJ0100-0000 ra 01:00:00 dec +00:00:00 secz 1.8 DES_std_SDSSJ0100_Yzirg.json
SDSSJ0200-0000 ra 02:00:00 dec +00:00:00 secz 1.4 DES_std_SDSSJ0200_Yzirg.json
SDSSJ0320-0000 ra 03:20:00 dec +00:00:00 secz 1.2 DES_std_SDSSJ0320_Yzirg.json

End of Night Standards MANUAL SLEW TO THESE FIELDS Wind screen down
UT Date = '2014/01/28 04:51' Local time = 01:51
E2-A ra 04:03:00 dec -44:41:45 secz 1.7 DES_e2a_grizY.json