Project

General

Profile

01262018 » History » Version 1

Version 1/2 - Next » - Current version
David Gerdes, 01/26/2018 09:21 AM


01262018

First-half night for DES

Observers

to get the names, check the shift table

  • Alfredo Zenteno (Observer1)
  • David Gerdes (Observer2/Run Manager)

CTIO Staff

To get the names, check the "staff calendar":* Staff calendar

  • Manuel Hernandez - Obs. Support
  • Jaqueline Seron - Operator

Almanac

forgotten how to do this? Use ephem with kentools

mjd 58145, date 20180126, Site CTIO, UT-offset 3 hr
Current local time 12:10 CLST     UT 15:10     SidTim 18:52
Event      Local-Time  Greenwich  Sidereal-Time
Sunset     20:52 CLST  23:52 UT   03:34   54 deg  
Eve. -10   21:31 CLST  00:31 UT   04:12   63 deg  Zeropoint; standards
Eve. -14   21:52 CLST  00:52 UT   04:34   68 deg  Begin obstac
Eve. -18   22:14 CLST  01:14 UT   04:56   74 deg  Last chance standards
Midpoint   01:56 CLST  04:56 UT   08:37  129 deg  
Moonset    03:01 CLST  06:01 UT   09:43  146 deg  
Morn -18   05:37 CLST  08:37 UT   12:19  185 deg  Begin astronomical twilight
Morn -14   05:59 CLST  08:59 UT   12:41  190 deg  End obstac; begin standards
Morn -10   06:21 CLST  09:21 UT   13:02  196 deg  
Sunrise    06:59 CLST  09:59 UT   13:41  205 deg  
Moon position (deg): RA 64.9, Dec 17.2 Phase: 0.630

Weather Conditions

  • at lunch: Clear skies
  • Forecast is to be clear

as predicted by hourly forecast

  • clouds: 0% expected
  • humidity: ~55% expected
  • temp: ~13°C expected
  • wind: light winds expected

Observing Plan and Goals for the Night

  • First half DES, second half non-DES
  • Evening standards (Yzirgu)
  • Obstac: Supernovae? + WF

forgotten how to do this? Use standards with kentools

  • 3 Evening standards
    Yzirg
UT Date = '2018/01/27 00:31'     Local time = 21:31
SDSSJ0100-0000        ra 01:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.7
SDSSJ0200-0000        ra 02:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.4
SDSSJ0320-0000        ra 03:20:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.2
  • 1 midpoint standard
    grizY
UT Date = '2018/01/27 04:50'     Local time = 01:50
SDSSJ1048-0000        ra 10:48:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.4
prompt> 

When were the last SN fields observed?

forgotten how to do this? Instructions here

hex_name    seqtype    last_complete
SN-E1    short    2018-01-15 01:08:05.835460+00:00
SN-X3    long_g    2018-01-15 02:17:19.554010+00:00
SN-E2    short    2018-01-16 00:59:34.787393+00:00
SN-S2    short    2018-01-16 02:08:01.691914+00:00
SN-X3    long_z    2018-01-17 00:57:02.927041+00:00
SN-X1    short    2018-01-18 00:58:11.372821+00:00
SN-X2    short    2018-01-18 01:17:35.251354+00:00
SN-X3    long_r    2018-01-18 01:37:02.154892+00:00
SN-S1    short    2018-01-19 00:58:20.251346+00:00
SN-C3    long_z    2018-01-20 01:27:30.008378+00:00
SN-C3    long_r    2018-01-23 01:26:21.235896+00:00
SN-C3    long_i    2018-01-24 01:09:41.315445+00:00
SN-C3    long_g    2018-01-25 01:45:39.472472+00:00
SN-C1    short    2018-01-25 01:58:42.486085+00:00
SN-C2    short    2018-01-25 02:18:10.917778+00:00
SN-X3    long_i    2018-01-26 01:05:03.972779+00:00

Useful links

Nightsum | CTIO Night Report | DECam Logbook
Tololo Environmental Web Page | Detailed hourly forecast | Satellite maps