Project

General

Profile

Nightly Observing Plan for MJD 56684 (starting evening of Jan 26, 2014)

Observers

Observer 1 Observer 2 Run Manager Assistant Run Manager SISPI Expert on Call
Tomek Kacprzak David Gerdes David Gerdes
ext. 511 ext. 512 ext. 512

CTIO staff (Telescope Operators)

Day Support Night Assistant
Humberto Orrego Claudio Aguilera

DECam Configuration and Setup

SISPI Configuration File DES.ini
DECam constants DECAM:CURRENT
Proposal ID 2012B-0001
Image Processing (Calibration) NCSA
Image Processing (First Cut) NCSA

Almanac
mjd 56684, date 20140126, Site CTIO, UT-offset 3 hr
Current local time 10:50 CLST     UT 13:50     SidTim 17:32
Sunset     20:52 CLST  23:52 UT   SidTim   54 deg  
Eve. -10   21:31 CLST  00:31 UT   SidTim   63 deg  Zeropoint; standards
Eve. -14   21:52 CLST  00:52 UT   SidTim   68 deg  Begin obstac
Eve. -18   22:14 CLST  01:14 UT   SidTim   74 deg  Last chance standards
Midpoint   01:56 CLST  04:56 UT   SidTim  129 deg  
Moonrise   03:33 CLST  06:33 UT   SidTim  154 deg  
Morn -18   05:37 CLST  08:37 UT   SidTim  185 deg  Begin astronomical twilight
Morn Std   05:59 CLST  08:59 UT   SidTim  190 deg  End obstac; begin standards
Morn -10   06:21 CLST  09:21 UT   SidTim  196 deg  
Sunrise    06:59 CLST  09:59 UT   SidTim  205 deg  
Moon position (deg): RA 255.1, Dec -18.6 Phase: 0.324

Weather Conditions

Clear
http://www.meteochile.gob.cl/cna/irsat_alta.png

Observing Plan and Goals for the Night

  1. Afternoon calibrations - script to use: prenight_calibration.json
  2. Zeropoint check - preceed with zeros script: flush_Vsub.json
  3. Start of night standards (scripts listed below)
  4. Nightly out of focus image (right after last standard, no break) - script to use: defocus_nightly.json
  5. ObsTac
  6. Middle of night standard (scripts listed below)
  7. End of night calibrations - if good afternoon calibrations use postnight_calibration.json, otherwise use postnight_zeros_flats.json

Start of Night Standards MANUAL SLEW TO THESE FIELDS Wind screen down
UT Date = '2014/01/27 00:38' Local time = 21:38
SDSSJ0100-0000 ra 01:00:00 dec +00:00:00 secz 1.8 DES_std_SDSSJ0100_Yzirg.json
SDSSJ0200-0000 ra 02:00:00 dec +00:00:00 secz 1.4 DES_std_SDSSJ0200_Yzirg.json
SDSSJ0320-0000 ra 03:20:00 dec +00:00:00 secz 1.2 DES_std_SDSSJ0320_Yzirg.json

End of Night Standards MANUAL SLEW TO THESE FIELDS Wind screen down
UT Date = '2014/01/27 04:51' Local time = 01:51
E2-A ra 04:03:00 dec -44:41:45 secz 1.7 DES_e2a_grizY.json