Project

General

Profile

01252018 » History » Version 3

Version 2 (David Gerdes, 01/25/2018 01:12 PM) → Version 3/6 (David Gerdes, 01/25/2018 01:13 PM)

h1. 01252018

First-half night for DES

h3. Observers

> to get the names, check the "shift table":https://cdcvs.fnal.gov/redmine/projects/desops/wiki/DESShiftsYr6

* Landon Gelman (Observer1)
* David Gerdes (Observer2/Run Manager)

h3. CTIO Staff

> To get the names, check the "staff calendar":* "Staff calendar":http://www.ctio.noao.edu/cgi-bin/Calcium38.pl?Op=ShowIt&CalendarName=4m_Observing_Schedule

* Manuel Hernandez - Obs. Support
* Alberto Alvarez Claudio Aguilera - Operator

h3. Almanac

> forgotten how to do this? Use ephem with "kentools":https://cdcvs.fnal.gov/redmine/projects/desops/wiki/Introduction_to_kentools

<pre>
mjd 58144, date 20180125, Site CTIO, UT-offset 3 hr
Current local time 15:51 CLST UT 18:51 SidTim 22:29
Event Local-Time Greenwich Sidereal-Time
Sunset 20:53 CLST 23:53 UT 03:30 52 deg
Eve. -10 21:31 CLST 00:31 UT 04:09 62 deg Zeropoint; standards
Eve. -14 21:53 CLST 00:53 UT 04:30 68 deg Begin obstac
Eve. -18 22:15 CLST 01:15 UT 04:53 73 deg Last chance standards
Midpoint 01:56 CLST 04:56 UT 08:33 128 deg
Moonset 02:15 CLST 05:15 UT 08:53 133 deg
Morn -18 05:36 CLST 08:36 UT 12:14 184 deg Begin astronomical twilight
Morn -14 05:58 CLST 08:58 UT 12:36 189 deg End obstac; begin standards
Morn -10 06:20 CLST 09:20 UT 12:57 194 deg
Sunrise 06:58 CLST 09:58 UT 13:36 204 deg
Moon position (deg): RA 50.6, Dec 13.8 Phase: 0.557
</pre>

h3. Weather Conditions

* at lunch: Clear skies
* Forecast is to be clear
> "as predicted by hourly forecast":http://www.yr.no/place/Chile/Coquimbo/Observatorio_Astron%C3%B3mico_Cerro_Tololo/hour_by_hour_detailed.html

* clouds: 0% expected
* humidity: ~60% expected
* temp: ~13°C expected
* wind: ~1 m/s expected

h3. Observing Plan and Goals for the Night

* First half DES, second half non-DES
* Evening standards (Yzirg)
* Obstac: X3i on seeing trigger; WF

> forgotten how to do this? Use standards with "kentools":https://cdcvs.fnal.gov/redmine/projects/desops/wiki/Introduction_to_kentools

* 3 Evening standards
Yzirg

<pre>
UT Date = '2018/01/26 00:31' Local time = 21:31
SDSSJ0100-0000 ra 01:00:00 dec +00:00:00 secz 1.7
SDSSJ0200-0000 ra 02:00:00 dec +00:00:00 secz 1.4
C26202/HST ra 03:32:30 dec -27:46:05 secz 1.0
</pre>

* 1 midpoint standard
grizY

<pre>
UT Date = '2018/01/26 04:50' Local time = 01:50
SDSSJ1048-0000 ra 10:48:00 dec +00:00:00 secz 1.4
</pre>

h3. When were the last SN fields observed?

> forgotten how to do this? "Instructions here":https://cdcvs.fnal.gov/redmine/projects/desops/wiki/When_were_the_SN_fields_last_observed

<pre>

hex_name seqtype last_complete
SN-E1 short 2018-01-15 01:08:05.835460+00:00
SN-X3 long_g 2018-01-15 02:17:19.554010+00:00
SN-E2 short 2018-01-16 00:59:34.787393+00:00
SN-S2 short 2018-01-16 02:08:01.691914+00:00
SN-X3 long_z 2018-01-17 00:57:02.927041+00:00
SN-X1 short 2018-01-18 00:58:11.372821+00:00
SN-X2 short 2018-01-18 01:17:35.251354+00:00
SN-X3 long_r 2018-01-18 01:37:02.154892+00:00
SN-S1 short 2018-01-19 00:58:20.251346+00:00
SN-C3 long_z 2018-01-20 01:27:30.008378+00:00
SN-X3 long_i 2018-01-22 00:50:58.995239+00:00
SN-C3 long_r 2018-01-23 01:26:21.235896+00:00
SN-C3 long_i 2018-01-24 01:09:41.315445+00:00
SN-C3 long_g 2018-01-25 01:45:39.472472+00:00
SN-C1 short 2018-01-25 01:58:42.486085+00:00
SN-C2 short 2018-01-25 02:18:10.917778+00:00

</pre>

h3. Useful links

"Nightsum":http://des-ops.fnal.gov:8080/nightsum/ | "CTIO Night Report":http://www.ctio.noao.edu/noao/node/add/night-report | "DECam Logbook":http://system1.ctio.noao.edu:8080/ECL/decam/E/index
"Tololo Environmental Web Page":http://139.229.115.231/web/tololo_frame.html | "Detailed hourly forecast":http://www.yr.no/place/Chile/Coquimbo/Observatorio_Astron%C3%B3mico_Cerro_Tololo/hour_by_hour_detailed.html | "Satellite maps":http://139.229.115.231/web/world_sat.php