Project

General

Profile

01252018 » History » Version 1

Version 1/6 - Next » - Current version
David Gerdes, 01/25/2018 12:56 PM


01252018

First-half night for DES

Observers

to get the names, check the shift table

  • Landon Gelman (Observer1)
  • David Gerdes (Observer2/Run Manager)

CTIO Staff

To get the names, check the "staff calendar":* Staff calendar

  • Manuel Hernandez - Obs. Support
  • Claudio Aguilera - Operator

Almanac

forgotten how to do this? Use ephem with kentools

mjd 58144, date 20180125, Site CTIO, UT-offset 3 hr
Current local time 15:51 CLST     UT 18:51     SidTim 22:29
Event      Local-Time  Greenwich  Sidereal-Time
Sunset     20:53 CLST  23:53 UT   03:30   52 deg  
Eve. -10   21:31 CLST  00:31 UT   04:09   62 deg  Zeropoint; standards
Eve. -14   21:53 CLST  00:53 UT   04:30   68 deg  Begin obstac
Eve. -18   22:15 CLST  01:15 UT   04:53   73 deg  Last chance standards
Midpoint   01:56 CLST  04:56 UT   08:33  128 deg  
Moonset    02:15 CLST  05:15 UT   08:53  133 deg  
Morn -18   05:36 CLST  08:36 UT   12:14  184 deg  Begin astronomical twilight
Morn -14   05:58 CLST  08:58 UT   12:36  189 deg  End obstac; begin standards
Morn -10   06:20 CLST  09:20 UT   12:57  194 deg  
Sunrise    06:58 CLST  09:58 UT   13:36  204 deg  
Moon position (deg): RA 50.6, Dec 13.8 Phase: 0.557

Weather Conditions

  • at lunch: Clear skies
  • Forecast is to be clear

as predicted by hourly forecast

  • clouds: 0% expected
  • humidity: ~60% expected
  • temp: ~13°C expected
  • wind: ~1 m/s expected

Observing Plan and Goals for the Night

  • First half DES, second half non-DES
  • Evening standards (Yzirg)
  • Obstac: C1, C2, C3g on seeing trigger; WF

forgotten how to do this? Use standards with kentools

  • 3 Evening standards
    Yzirg
UT Date = '2018/01/26 00:31'     Local time = 21:31
SDSSJ0100-0000        ra 01:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.7
SDSSJ0200-0000        ra 02:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.4
C26202/HST            ra 03:32:30  dec -27:46:05  secz 1.0
  • 1 midpoint standard
    grizY
UT Date = '2018/01/26 04:50'     Local time = 01:50
SDSSJ1048-0000        ra 10:48:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.4

When were the last SN fields observed?

forgotten how to do this? Instructions here


hex_name    seqtype    last_complete
SN-E1    short    2018-01-15 01:08:05.835460+00:00
SN-X3    long_g    2018-01-15 02:17:19.554010+00:00
SN-E2    short    2018-01-16 00:59:34.787393+00:00
SN-S2    short    2018-01-16 02:08:01.691914+00:00
SN-X3    long_z    2018-01-17 00:57:02.927041+00:00
SN-X1    short    2018-01-18 00:58:11.372821+00:00
SN-X2    short    2018-01-18 01:17:35.251354+00:00
SN-X3    long_r    2018-01-18 01:37:02.154892+00:00
SN-S1    short    2018-01-19 00:58:20.251346+00:00
SN-C3    long_z    2018-01-20 01:27:30.008378+00:00
SN-X3    long_i    2018-01-22 00:50:58.995239+00:00
SN-C3    long_r    2018-01-23 01:26:21.235896+00:00
SN-C3    long_i    2018-01-24 01:09:41.315445+00:00
SN-C3    long_g    2018-01-25 01:45:39.472472+00:00
SN-C1    short    2018-01-25 01:58:42.486085+00:00
SN-C2    short    2018-01-25 02:18:10.917778+00:00

Useful links

Nightsum | CTIO Night Report | DECam Logbook
Tololo Environmental Web Page | Detailed hourly forecast | Satellite maps