Project

General

Profile

01252017

Nightly Observing Plan for MJD 57779 (starting evening of Jan 25, 2017)

Half night

Observers

  • Sebastian Bocquet
  • Josh Frieman (Obs 2, RM)

CTIO Staff

  • Manuel Hernández - Obs. Support
  • Rodrigo Hernández - Operator
  • Staff calendar

Almanac

Current local time 16:46 CLST     UT 19:46     SidTim 23:24
Sunset     20:52 CLST  23:52 UT   SidTim   53 deg  
Eve. -10   21:31 CLST  00:31 UT   SidTim   63 deg  Zeropoint; standards
Eve. -14   21:53 CLST  00:53 UT   SidTim   68 deg  Begin obstac
Eve. -18   22:15 CLST  01:15 UT   SidTim   74 deg  Last chance standards
Midpoint   01:56 CLST  04:56 UT   SidTim  128 deg  
Morn -18   05:36 CLST  08:36 UT   SidTim  184 deg  Begin astronomical twilight
Moonrise   05:50 CLST  08:50 UT   SidTim  187 deg  
Morn Std   05:58 CLST  08:58 UT   SidTim  189 deg  End obstac; begin standards
Morn -10   06:20 CLST  09:20 UT   SidTim  195 deg  
Sunrise    06:59 CLST  09:59 UT   SidTim  204 deg  
Moon position (deg): RA 286.7, Dec -18.0 Phase: 0.142

Weather Conditions

Observing Plan and Goals for the Night

* Standards today.

UT Date = '2017/01/26 00:35'     Local time = 21:35
SDSSJ0100-0000        ra 01:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.7
SDSSJ0200-0000        ra 02:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.4
SDSSJ0320-0000        ra 03:20:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.2

* Obstac: wide field
* Half Night standards (using calspec) use only 1 (highest airmass): grizY

UT Date = '2017/01/26 04:50'     Local time = 01:50
E2-A                  ra 04:03:00  dec -44:41:45  secz 1.7

When were the last SN fields observed?

(See https://cdcvs.fnal.gov/redmine/projects/desops/wiki/When_were_the_SN_fields_last_observed for database query.)

hex_name    seqtype    last_complete
SN-X3     long_z   2017-01-18 00:57:06.761183+00:00
SN-C3     long_i   2017-01-18 02:28:19.432806+00:00
SN-E1     short    2017-01-19 00:57:00.850348+00:00
SN-X3     long_i   2017-01-19 01:17:53.593385+00:00
SN-X2     short    2017-01-19 01:51:40.713325+00:00
SN-E2     short    2017-01-20 01:06:48.162738+00:00
SN-X1     short    2017-01-20 01:27:35.887735+00:00
SN-X3     long_r   2017-01-20 01:46:55.771464+00:00
SN-C3     long_g   2017-01-22 03:32:30.777433+00:00
SN-C1     short    2017-01-22 03:45:19.317402+00:00
SN-X3     long_g   2017-01-25 00:55:40.621331+00:00
SN-S2     short    2017-01-25 01:09:01.663537+00:00
SN-S1     short    2017-01-25 01:28:23.589929+00:00
SN-C3     long_z   2017-01-25 01:49:06.611492+00:00
SN-C2     short    2017-01-25 02:56:16.703510+00:00
SN-C3     long_r   2017-01-25 03:15:30.498296+00:00

Notes from 4pm meeting

Run Manager's Meeting January 25, 2017
---------------------------------------
HTD, Finley, Butler, James, Josh, Johnson, Kent
Manuel, Mandeep

Camera & Telescope
------------------
Everything is OK.

Work going on for the dome bearings.

Start calibrations an hour late.

Last Night
-----------
1st night after 2 nights clouded out. A little early cirrus.
Night summary is at
http://des-ops.fnal.gov:8080/nightsum/nightsum-2017-01-24/nightsum.html
might be tiling 6 i-band is done.

SN C2, C3r, C3z, S1, S2, X3g done

No middle of night standards as it was a bit cirrussy.

Observer 1 telemetry display isn't capturing DIMM2.
Quick Reduce color coding doesn't agree with what is in the legend.

DESDM & DQ
----------
Got all of the data.
All the SN were good
WF is all in process now and finishing in an hour or so.
Forecast
--------
Weather looks good. Clouds way over to east.
Forecast indicates maybe humid later in the night.
Wind is blowing S to N and it's cloudy to the south.
A good SN night maybe.

SN on deadman: C3i, E1, X2, X3i, X3z

Maybe a little WF observing.

AOB
---
The Blanco web cam did not post a youtube last night.

No definite word from calibration group on whether the g-band decals scan is any good.
No 4 o'clock meeting tomorrow unless there is a TOO or a big problem.

WoD: make the seeing great again!