Project

General

Profile

01252015

Nightly Observing Plan for MJD 57048 (starting evening of Jan 25, 2015)

DES has the first half of the night. Switchover occurs at the midpoint of the night, which is at 01:55 CLST (04:55UT).

Observers

  • Yuanyuan Zhang (observer 1)
  • Marisa March (run manager / observer 2)

CTIO Staff

  • Claudio Aguilera
  • Hernan Tirado

Almanac

mjd 57048, date 20150125, Site CTIO, UT-offset 3 hr
Current local time 12:35 CLST     UT 15:35     SidTim 19:12
Sunset     20:53 CLST  23:53 UT   SidTim   52 deg  
Eve. -10   21:31 CLST  00:31 UT   SidTim   62 deg  Zeropoint; standards
Eve. -14   21:53 CLST  00:53 UT   SidTim   68 deg  Begin obstac
Eve. -18   22:15 CLST  01:15 UT   SidTim   73 deg  Last chance standards
Moonset    00:27 CLST  03:27 UT   SidTim  106 deg  
Midpoint   01:55 CLST  04:55 UT   SidTim  128 deg  
Morn -18   05:36 CLST  08:36 UT   SidTim  183 deg  Begin astronomical twilight
Morn Std   05:58 CLST  08:58 UT   SidTim  189 deg  End obstac; begin standards
Morn -10   06:19 CLST  09:19 UT   SidTim  194 deg  
Sunrise    06:58 CLST  09:58 UT   SidTim  204 deg  
Moon position (deg): RA 21.1, Dec 8.6 Phase: 0.392

Weather Conditions
Clear skies and calm winds
http://www.yr.no/place/Chile/Coquimbo/Observatorio_Astron%C3%B3mico_Cerro_Tololo/hour_by_hour_detailed.html
http://139.229.115.231/web/world_sat.php

Observing Plan and Goals for the Night

  • Start of night standards [Yzirg ordered scripts]
    UT Date = '2015/01/26 00:31'     Local time = 21:31
    MaxVis                ra 06:30:00  dec -58:45:00  secz 1.3
    SDSSJ0320-0000        ra 03:20:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.2  *DES_std_sdssj0320_Yzirg.json*
    
  • Pre-hand over standards (chose best option) [grizY ordered scripts]
    UT Date = '2015/01/26 04:45'     Local time = 01:45
    SDSSJ1048-0000        ra 10:48:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.4
    SDSSJ0843-0000        ra 08:43:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.2
    
  • No special instructions tonight?
  • Obstac.
  • middle-of-night standard, then handover to community team