Project

General

Profile

01242015 - Nightly Observing Plan for MJD 56683 (starting evening of Jan 25, 2014)

Observers

Observer 1 Observer 2 Run Manager Assistant Run Manager SISPI Expert on Call
Tomek Kacprzak David Gerdes David Gerdes
ext. 511 ext. 512 ext. 512

CTIO staff (Telescope Operators)

Day Support Night Assistant
Humberto Orrego Claudio Aguilera

DECam Configuration and Setup

SISPI Configuration File DES.ini
DECam constants DECAM:CURRENT
Proposal ID 2012B-0001
Image Processing (Calibration) NCSA
Image Processing (First Cut) NCSA

Almanac
mjd 56683, date 20140125, Site CTIO, UT-offset 3 hr
Current local time 11:07 CLST     UT 14:07     SidTim 17:44
Sunset     20:53 CLST  23:53 UT   SidTim   52 deg  
Eve. -10   21:31 CLST  00:31 UT   SidTim   62 deg  Zeropoint; standards
Eve. -14   21:53 CLST  00:53 UT   SidTim   68 deg  Begin obstac
Eve. -18   22:15 CLST  01:15 UT   SidTim   73 deg  Last chance standards
Midpoint   01:56 CLST  04:56 UT   SidTim  128 deg  
Moonrise   02:38 CLST  05:38 UT   SidTim  139 deg  
Morn -18   05:36 CLST  08:36 UT   SidTim  183 deg  Begin astronomical twilight
Morn Std   05:58 CLST  08:58 UT   SidTim  189 deg  End obstac; begin standards
Morn -10   06:20 CLST  09:20 UT   SidTim  194 deg  
Sunrise    06:58 CLST  09:58 UT   SidTim  204 deg  
Moon position (deg): RA 240.2, Dec -17.5 Phase: 0.400

Weather Conditions

Clear
http://www.meteochile.gob.cl/cna/irsat_alta.png

Observing Plan and Goals for the Night

  1. Afternoon calibrations - script to use: prenight_calibration.json
  2. Zeropoint check - preceed with zeros script: flush_Vsub.json
  3. Start of night standards (scripts listed below)
  4. Nightly out of focus image (right after last standard, no break) - script to use: defocus_nightly.json
  5. ObsTac
  6. Middle of night standards (scripts listed below)
  7. End of night calibrations - if good afternoon calibrations use postnight_calibration.json, otherwise use postnight_zeros_flats.json

Start of Night Standards MANUAL SLEW TO THESE FIELDS Wind screen down
UT Date = '2014/01/27 00:38' Local time = 21:38
SDSSJ0100-0000 ra 01:00:00 dec +00:00:00 secz 1.8 DES_std_SDSSJ0100_Yzirg.json
SDSSJ0200-0000 ra 02:00:00 dec +00:00:00 secz 1.4 DES_std_SDSSJ0200_Yzirg.json
SDSSJ0320-0000 ra 03:20:00 dec +00:00:00 secz 1.2 DES_std_SDSSJ0320_Yzirg.json

End of Night Standards MANUAL SLEW TO THESE FIELDS Wind screen down
UT Date = '2014/01/27 04:51' Local time = 01:51
E2-A ra 04:03:00 dec -44:41:45 secz 1.7 DES_e2a_grizY.json