Project

General

Profile

01242018

First-half night for DES

Observers

to get the names, check the shift table

  • David Gerdes (Observer1)
  • Landon Gelman (Observer2/Run Manager)

CTIO Staff

To get the names, check the "staff calendar":* Staff calendar

  • Manuel Hernandez - Obs. Support
  • Claudio Aguilera - Operator

Almanac

forgotten how to do this? Use ephem with kentools

mjd 58143, date 20180124, Site CTIO, UT-offset 3 hr
Current local time 15:59 CLST     UT 18:59     SidTim 22:32
Event      Local-Time  Greenwich  Sidereal-Time
Sunset     20:53 CLST  23:53 UT   03:27   52 deg  
Eve. -10   21:32 CLST  00:32 UT   04:06   61 deg  Zeropoint; standards
Eve. -14   21:53 CLST  00:53 UT   04:27   67 deg  Begin obstac
Eve. -18   22:16 CLST  01:16 UT   04:50   72 deg  Last chance standards
Moonset    01:33 CLST  04:33 UT   08:07  122 deg  
Midpoint   01:55 CLST  04:55 UT   08:29  127 deg  
Morn -18   05:35 CLST  08:35 UT   12:09  182 deg  Begin astronomical twilight
Morn -14   05:57 CLST  08:57 UT   12:31  188 deg  End obstac; begin standards
Morn -10   06:19 CLST  09:19 UT   12:52  193 deg  
Sunrise    06:58 CLST  09:58 UT   13:31  203 deg  
Moon position (deg): RA 37.1, Dec 9.9 Phase: 0.487

Weather Conditions

  • at lunch: Clear skies
  • Forecast is to be clear

as predicted by hourly forecast

  • clouds: 0% expected
  • humidity: 55-58% expected
  • temp: ~13°C expected
  • wind: ~1 m/s expected

Observing Plan and Goals for the Night

  • First half DES, second half non-DES
  • Evening standards (Yzirg)
  • Obstac: C1, C2, C3g on seeing trigger; WF

forgotten how to do this? Use standards with kentools

  • 3 Evening standards
    Yzirg
UT Date = '2018/01/25 00:32'     Local time = 21:32
SDSSJ0100-0000        ra 01:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.7
MaxVis                ra 06:30:00  dec -58:45:00  secz 1.3
C26202/HST            ra 03:32:30  dec -27:46:05  secz 1.0
  • 1 midpoint standard
    grizY
UT Date = '2018/01/25 04:55'     Local time = 01:55
SDSSJ1048-0000        ra 10:48:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.4

When were the last SN fields observed?

forgotten how to do this? Instructions here

hex_name     seqtype     last_complete
SN-E1    short    2018-01-15 01:08:05.835460+00:00
SN-X3    long_g    2018-01-15 02:17:19.554010+00:00
SN-E2    short    2018-01-16 00:59:34.787393+00:00
SN-S2    short    2018-01-16 02:08:01.691914+00:00
SN-X3    long_z    2018-01-17 00:57:02.927041+00:00
SN-X1    short    2018-01-18 00:58:11.372821+00:00
SN-X2    short    2018-01-18 01:17:35.251354+00:00
SN-X3    long_r    2018-01-18 01:37:02.154892+00:00
SN-S1    short    2018-01-19 00:58:20.251346+00:00
SN-C3    long_z    2018-01-20 01:27:30.008378+00:00
SN-C1    short    2018-01-21 00:58:01.943764+00:00
SN-C2    short    2018-01-21 01:17:29.266378+00:00
SN-C3    long_g    2018-01-21 01:36:55.766070+00:00
SN-X3    long_i    2018-01-22 00:50:58.995239+00:00
SN-C3    long_r    2018-01-23 01:26:21.235896+00:00
SN-C3    long_i    2018-01-24 01:09:41.315445+00:00

Useful links

Nightsum | CTIO Night Report | DECam Logbook
Tololo Environmental Web Page | Detailed hourly forecast | Satellite maps