Project

General

Profile

01242015

Nightly Observing Plan for MJD 57047 (starting evening of Jan 24, 2015)

DES has the first half of the night. Switchover occurs at the midpoint of the night, which is at 01:55 CLST (04:55UT).

Observers

  • Elisabeth Krause (run manager / observer 1)
  • Marisa March (observer 2)

CTIO Staff

  • Claudio Aguilera
  • Hernan Tirado

Almanac

mjd 57047, date 20150124, Site CTIO, UT-offset 3 hr
Current local time 13:57 CLST     UT 16:57     SidTim 20:30
Sunset     20:53 CLST  23:53 UT   SidTim   52 deg  
Eve. -10   21:32 CLST  00:32 UT   SidTim   61 deg  Zeropoint; standards
Eve. -14   21:54 CLST  00:54 UT   SidTim   66 deg  Begin obstac
Eve. -18   22:16 CLST  01:16 UT   SidTim   72 deg  Last chance standards
Moonset    23:45 CLST  02:45 UT   SidTim   94 deg  
Midpoint   01:55 CLST  04:55 UT   SidTim  127 deg  
Morn -18   05:34 CLST  08:34 UT   SidTim  182 deg  Begin astronomical twilight
Morn Std   05:57 CLST  08:57 UT   SidTim  188 deg  End obstac; begin standards
Morn -10   06:18 CLST  09:18 UT   SidTim  193 deg  
Sunrise    06:57 CLST  09:57 UT   SidTim  202 deg  
Moon position (deg): RA 7.6, Dec 4.4 Phase: 0.322

Weather Conditions
Some cloud forecast - up to 40% coverage for a time.
http://www.yr.no/place/Chile/Coquimbo/Observatorio_Astron%C3%B3mico_Cerro_Tololo/hour_by_hour_detailed.html
http://139.229.115.231/web/world_sat.php

Observing Plan and Goals for the Night

  • Start of night standards [Yzirg ordered scripts]
    UT Date = '2015/01/25 00:32'     Local time = 21:32
    SDSSJ0200-0000        ra 02:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.4  *DES_std_sdssj0200_Yzirg.json*
    SDSSJ0320-0000        ra 03:20:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.2  *DES_std_sdssj0320_Yzirg.json*
    
  • Pre-hand over standards (chose best option) [grizY ordered scripts]
    UT Date = '2015/01/25 04:55'     Local time = 01:55
    E2-A                  ra 04:03:00  dec -44:41:45  secz 1.7
    SDSSJ1048-0000        ra 10:48:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.4
    SDSSJ0843-0000        ra 08:43:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.2
    
  • No special instructions tonight?
  • Obstac.
  • middle-of-night standard, then handover to community team