Project

General

Profile

01232018 » History » Version 2

Landon Gelman, 01/23/2018 01:38 PM

1 1 Landon Gelman
h1. 01232018
2 1 Landon Gelman
3 1 Landon Gelman
First-half night for DES
4 1 Landon Gelman
5 1 Landon Gelman
h3. Observers
6 1 Landon Gelman
7 1 Landon Gelman
> to get the names, check the "shift table":https://cdcvs.fnal.gov/redmine/projects/desops/wiki/DESShiftsYr6
8 1 Landon Gelman
9 1 Landon Gelman
* David Gerdes (Observer1)
10 1 Landon Gelman
* Landon Gelman (Observer2/Run Manager)
11 1 Landon Gelman
12 1 Landon Gelman
13 1 Landon Gelman
h3. CTIO Staff
14 1 Landon Gelman
15 1 Landon Gelman
> To get the names, check the "staff calendar":* "Staff calendar":http://www.ctio.noao.edu/cgi-bin/Calcium38.pl?Op=ShowIt&CalendarName=4m_Observing_Schedule
16 1 Landon Gelman
17 1 Landon Gelman
* Manuel Hernandez - Obs. Support
18 1 Landon Gelman
* Claudio Aguilera - Operator
19 1 Landon Gelman
20 1 Landon Gelman
h3. Almanac
21 1 Landon Gelman
22 1 Landon Gelman
> forgotten how to do this? Use ephem with "kentools":https://cdcvs.fnal.gov/redmine/projects/desops/wiki/Introduction_to_kentools
23 1 Landon Gelman
24 1 Landon Gelman
<pre>
25 1 Landon Gelman
mjd 58142, date 20180123, Site CTIO, UT-offset 3 hr
26 1 Landon Gelman
Current local time 14:50 CLST     UT 17:50     SidTim 21:19
27 1 Landon Gelman
Event      Local-Time  Greenwich  Sidereal-Time
28 1 Landon Gelman
Sunset     20:53 CLST  23:53 UT   03:23   51 deg  
29 1 Landon Gelman
Eve. -10   21:32 CLST  00:32 UT   04:02   60 deg  Zeropoint; standards
30 1 Landon Gelman
Eve. -14   21:54 CLST  00:54 UT   04:24   66 deg  Begin obstac
31 1 Landon Gelman
Eve. -18   22:17 CLST  01:17 UT   04:46   72 deg  Last chance standards
32 1 Landon Gelman
Moonset    00:55 CLST  03:55 UT   07:25  111 deg  
33 1 Landon Gelman
Midpoint   01:55 CLST  04:55 UT   08:25  126 deg  
34 1 Landon Gelman
Morn -18   05:34 CLST  08:34 UT   12:03  181 deg  Begin astronomical twilight
35 1 Landon Gelman
Morn -14   05:56 CLST  08:56 UT   12:26  186 deg  End obstac; begin standards
36 1 Landon Gelman
Morn -10   06:18 CLST  09:18 UT   12:47  192 deg  
37 1 Landon Gelman
Sunrise    06:57 CLST  09:57 UT   13:26  202 deg  
38 1 Landon Gelman
Moon position (deg): RA 24.3, Dec 5.5 Phase: 0.422
39 1 Landon Gelman
</pre>
40 1 Landon Gelman
41 1 Landon Gelman
42 1 Landon Gelman
h3. Weather Conditions
43 1 Landon Gelman
44 1 Landon Gelman
* at lunch: Clear skies
45 1 Landon Gelman
* Forecast is to be clear
46 1 Landon Gelman
> "as predicted by hourly forecast":http://www.yr.no/place/Chile/Coquimbo/Observatorio_Astron%C3%B3mico_Cerro_Tololo/hour_by_hour_detailed.html
47 1 Landon Gelman
 
48 1 Landon Gelman
* clouds: 0% expected
49 1 Landon Gelman
* humidity: 56-59% expected
50 1 Landon Gelman
* temp: ~13°C expected
51 1 Landon Gelman
* wind:  ~1 m/s expected
52 1 Landon Gelman
53 1 Landon Gelman
h3. Observing Plan and Goals for the Night
54 1 Landon Gelman
55 1 Landon Gelman
* First half DES, second half non-DES
56 1 Landon Gelman
* Evening standards (Yzirg)
57 2 Landon Gelman
* Obstac: C3i on seeing trigger, WF
58 1 Landon Gelman
59 1 Landon Gelman
> forgotten how to do this? Use standards with "kentools":https://cdcvs.fnal.gov/redmine/projects/desops/wiki/Introduction_to_kentools
60 1 Landon Gelman
61 1 Landon Gelman
* 3 Evening standards 
62 1 Landon Gelman
Yzirg
63 1 Landon Gelman
64 1 Landon Gelman
<pre>
65 1 Landon Gelman
UT Date = '2018/01/24 00:32'     Local time = 21:32
66 1 Landon Gelman
MaxVis                ra 06:30:00  dec -58:45:00  secz 1.3
67 1 Landon Gelman
SDSSJ0320-0000        ra 03:20:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.2
68 1 Landon Gelman
N.B. Only two standards came up on 'standards'.
69 1 Landon Gelman
</pre>
70 1 Landon Gelman
71 1 Landon Gelman
* 1 midpoint standard
72 1 Landon Gelman
grizY 
73 1 Landon Gelman
74 1 Landon Gelman
<pre>
75 1 Landon Gelman
UT Date = '2018/01/24 04:55'     Local time = 01:55
76 1 Landon Gelman
SDSSJ1048-0000        ra 10:48:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.4
77 1 Landon Gelman
</pre>
78 1 Landon Gelman
79 1 Landon Gelman
h3. When were the last SN fields observed?
80 1 Landon Gelman
81 1 Landon Gelman
> forgotten how to do this? "Instructions here":https://cdcvs.fnal.gov/redmine/projects/desops/wiki/When_were_the_SN_fields_last_observed
82 1 Landon Gelman
83 1 Landon Gelman
<pre>
84 1 Landon Gelman
hex_name 	seqtype 	last_complete
85 1 Landon Gelman
SN-E1	short	2018-01-15 01:08:05.835460+00:00
86 1 Landon Gelman
SN-X3	long_g	2018-01-15 02:17:19.554010+00:00
87 1 Landon Gelman
SN-E2	short	2018-01-16 00:59:34.787393+00:00
88 1 Landon Gelman
SN-S2	short	2018-01-16 02:08:01.691914+00:00
89 1 Landon Gelman
SN-X3	long_z	2018-01-17 00:57:02.927041+00:00
90 1 Landon Gelman
SN-X1	short	2018-01-18 00:58:11.372821+00:00
91 1 Landon Gelman
SN-X2	short	2018-01-18 01:17:35.251354+00:00
92 1 Landon Gelman
SN-X3	long_r	2018-01-18 01:37:02.154892+00:00
93 1 Landon Gelman
SN-S1	short	2018-01-19 00:58:20.251346+00:00
94 1 Landon Gelman
SN-C3	long_i	2018-01-20 00:53:07.404583+00:00
95 1 Landon Gelman
SN-C3	long_z	2018-01-20 01:27:30.008378+00:00
96 1 Landon Gelman
SN-C1	short	2018-01-21 00:58:01.943764+00:00
97 1 Landon Gelman
SN-C2	short	2018-01-21 01:17:29.266378+00:00
98 1 Landon Gelman
SN-C3	long_g	2018-01-21 01:36:55.766070+00:00
99 1 Landon Gelman
SN-X3	long_i	2018-01-22 00:50:58.995239+00:00
100 1 Landon Gelman
SN-C3	long_r	2018-01-23 01:26:21.235896+00:00
101 1 Landon Gelman
</pre>
102 1 Landon Gelman
103 1 Landon Gelman
h3. Useful links
104 1 Landon Gelman
  
105 1 Landon Gelman
"Nightsum":http://des-ops.fnal.gov:8080/nightsum/ | "CTIO Night Report":http://www.ctio.noao.edu/noao/node/add/night-report | "DECam Logbook":http://system1.ctio.noao.edu:8080/ECL/decam/E/index
106 1 Landon Gelman
"Tololo Environmental Web Page":http://139.229.115.231/web/tololo_frame.html | "Detailed hourly forecast":http://www.yr.no/place/Chile/Coquimbo/Observatorio_Astron%C3%B3mico_Cerro_Tololo/hour_by_hour_detailed.html | "Satellite maps":http://139.229.115.231/web/world_sat.php