Project

General

Profile

01232018 » History » Version 1

Version 1/2 - Next » - Current version
Landon Gelman, 01/23/2018 11:57 AM


01232018

First-half night for DES

Observers

to get the names, check the shift table

  • David Gerdes (Observer1)
  • Landon Gelman (Observer2/Run Manager)

CTIO Staff

To get the names, check the "staff calendar":* Staff calendar

  • Manuel Hernandez - Obs. Support
  • Claudio Aguilera - Operator

Almanac

forgotten how to do this? Use ephem with kentools

mjd 58142, date 20180123, Site CTIO, UT-offset 3 hr
Current local time 14:50 CLST     UT 17:50     SidTim 21:19
Event      Local-Time  Greenwich  Sidereal-Time
Sunset     20:53 CLST  23:53 UT   03:23   51 deg  
Eve. -10   21:32 CLST  00:32 UT   04:02   60 deg  Zeropoint; standards
Eve. -14   21:54 CLST  00:54 UT   04:24   66 deg  Begin obstac
Eve. -18   22:17 CLST  01:17 UT   04:46   72 deg  Last chance standards
Moonset    00:55 CLST  03:55 UT   07:25  111 deg  
Midpoint   01:55 CLST  04:55 UT   08:25  126 deg  
Morn -18   05:34 CLST  08:34 UT   12:03  181 deg  Begin astronomical twilight
Morn -14   05:56 CLST  08:56 UT   12:26  186 deg  End obstac; begin standards
Morn -10   06:18 CLST  09:18 UT   12:47  192 deg  
Sunrise    06:57 CLST  09:57 UT   13:26  202 deg  
Moon position (deg): RA 24.3, Dec 5.5 Phase: 0.422

Weather Conditions

  • at lunch: Clear skies
  • Forecast is to be clear

as predicted by hourly forecast

  • clouds: 0% expected
  • humidity: 56-59% expected
  • temp: ~13°C expected
  • wind: ~1 m/s expected

Observing Plan and Goals for the Night

  • First half DES, second half non-DES
  • Evening standards (Yzirg)
  • Obstac: ?

forgotten how to do this? Use standards with kentools

  • 3 Evening standards
    Yzirg
UT Date = '2018/01/24 00:32'     Local time = 21:32
MaxVis                ra 06:30:00  dec -58:45:00  secz 1.3
SDSSJ0320-0000        ra 03:20:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.2
N.B. Only two standards came up on 'standards'.
  • 1 midpoint standard
    grizY
UT Date = '2018/01/24 04:55'     Local time = 01:55
SDSSJ1048-0000        ra 10:48:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.4

When were the last SN fields observed?

forgotten how to do this? Instructions here

hex_name     seqtype     last_complete
SN-E1    short    2018-01-15 01:08:05.835460+00:00
SN-X3    long_g    2018-01-15 02:17:19.554010+00:00
SN-E2    short    2018-01-16 00:59:34.787393+00:00
SN-S2    short    2018-01-16 02:08:01.691914+00:00
SN-X3    long_z    2018-01-17 00:57:02.927041+00:00
SN-X1    short    2018-01-18 00:58:11.372821+00:00
SN-X2    short    2018-01-18 01:17:35.251354+00:00
SN-X3    long_r    2018-01-18 01:37:02.154892+00:00
SN-S1    short    2018-01-19 00:58:20.251346+00:00
SN-C3    long_i    2018-01-20 00:53:07.404583+00:00
SN-C3    long_z    2018-01-20 01:27:30.008378+00:00
SN-C1    short    2018-01-21 00:58:01.943764+00:00
SN-C2    short    2018-01-21 01:17:29.266378+00:00
SN-C3    long_g    2018-01-21 01:36:55.766070+00:00
SN-X3    long_i    2018-01-22 00:50:58.995239+00:00
SN-C3    long_r    2018-01-23 01:26:21.235896+00:00

Useful links

Nightsum | CTIO Night Report | DECam Logbook
Tololo Environmental Web Page | Detailed hourly forecast | Satellite maps