Project

General

Profile

01232015

Nightly Observing Plan for MJD 57046 (starting evening of Jan 23, 2015)

DES has the first half of the night. Switchover occurs at the midpoint of the night, which is at 01:55 CLST (04:55UT).

Observers

  • Elisabeth Krause (run manager / observer 1)
  • Marisa March (observer 2)

CTIO Staff

  • Claudio Aguilera
  • Hernan Tirado

Almanac

mjd 57046, date 20150123, Site CTIO, UT-offset 3 hr
Current local time 14:18 CLST     UT 17:18     SidTim 20:47
Sunset     20:54 CLST  23:54 UT   SidTim   50 deg  
Eve. -10   21:33 CLST  00:33 UT   SidTim   60 deg  Zeropoint; standards
Eve. -14   21:54 CLST  00:54 UT   SidTim   66 deg  Begin obstac
Eve. -18   22:17 CLST  01:17 UT   SidTim   71 deg  Last chance standards
Moonset    23:04 CLST  02:04 UT   SidTim   83 deg  
Midpoint   01:55 CLST  04:55 UT   SidTim  126 deg  
Morn -18   05:33 CLST  08:33 UT   SidTim  180 deg  Begin astronomical twilight
Morn Std   05:56 CLST  08:56 UT   SidTim  186 deg  End obstac; begin standards
Morn -10   06:17 CLST  09:17 UT   SidTim  192 deg  
Sunrise    06:56 CLST  09:56 UT   SidTim  201 deg  
Moon position (deg): RA 354.0, Dec -0.2 Phase: 0.250

Weather Conditions
Clear skies, light winds (prevalently W, NW) humidity > 80 % at times
http://139.229.115.231/web/world_sat.php

Observing Plan and Goals for the Night

  • Start of night standards [Yzirg ordered scripts]
    UT Date = '2015/01/24 00:33'     Local time = 21:33
    SDSSJ0100-0000        ra 01:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.6  *DES_std_sdssj0100_Yzirg.json*
    SDSSJ0320-0000        ra 03:20:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.2  *DES_std_sdssj0320_Yzirg.json*
    
  • Pre-hand over standards (chose best option) [grizY ordered scripts]
    UT Date = '2015/01/24 04:48'     Local time = 01:48
    C26202/HST            ra 03:32:30  dec -27:46:05  secz 2.1     *DES_std_c26202_grizY.json*
    SDSSJ1048-0000        ra 10:48:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.5  *DES_std_sdssj1048_grizY.json*
    SDSSJ0843-0000        ra 08:43:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.2  *DES_std_sdssj0843_grizY.json*
    
  • No special instructions tonight?
  • Obstac.
  • middle-of-night standard, then handover to community team