Project

General

Profile

01232014 - Nightly Observing Plan for MJD 56681 (starting evening of Jan 23, 2014)

Observers

Observer 1 Observer 2 Run Manager Assistant Run Manager SISPI Expert on Call
Claudio Bruderer David Gerdes Claudio Bruderer
ext. 521 ext. 512 ext. 521

CTIO staff (Telescope Operators)

Day Support Night Assistant
Humberto Claudio

DECam Configuration and Setup

SISPI Configuration File DES.ini
DECam constants DECAM:CURRENT
Proposal ID 2012B-0001
Image Processing (Calibration) NCSA
Image Processing (First Cut) NCSA

Almanac
mjd 56681, date 20140123, Site CTIO, UT-offset 3 hr
Current local time 11:41 CLST     UT 14:41     SidTim 18:10
Sunset     20:54 CLST  23:54 UT   SidTim   51 deg  
Eve. -10   21:32 CLST  00:32 UT   SidTim   60 deg  Zeropoint; standards
Eve. -14   21:54 CLST  00:54 UT   SidTim   66 deg  Begin obstac
Eve. -18   22:17 CLST  01:17 UT   SidTim   72 deg  Last chance standards
Moonrise   01:05 CLST  04:05 UT   SidTim  114 deg  
Midpoint   01:55 CLST  04:55 UT   SidTim  126 deg  
Morn -18   05:34 CLST  08:34 UT   SidTim  181 deg  Begin astronomical twilight
Morn Std   05:56 CLST  08:56 UT   SidTim  186 deg  End obstac; begin standards
Morn -10   06:18 CLST  09:18 UT   SidTim  192 deg  
Sunrise    06:57 CLST  09:57 UT   SidTim  202 deg  
Moon position (deg): RA 212.5, Dec -12.3 Phase: 0.538

Weather Conditions

Cirrus near horizon, otherwise clear.
http://www.meteochile.gob.cl/cna/irsat_alta.png

Observing Plan and Goals for the Night

  1. Afternoon calibrations - script to use: prenight_calibration.json
  2. Zeropoint check - preceed with zeros script: flush_Vsub.json
  3. Start of night standards (scripts listed below)
  4. Nightly out of focus image (right after last standard, no break) - script to use: defocus_nightly.json
  5. ObsTac
  6. Middle of night standards (scripts listed below)
  7. End of night calibrations - if good afternoon calibrations use postnight_calibration.json, otherwise use postnight_zeros_flats.json
  1. Will fill in below after midday

Start of Night Standards MANUAL SLEW TO THESE FIELDS Wind screen down
UT Date = '2014/01/24 00:40' Local time = 21:40
SDSSJ0100-0000 ra 01:00:00 dec +00:00:00 secz 1.7 DES_std_SDSSJ0100_Yzirg.json
SDSSJ0200-0000 ra 02:00:00 dec +00:00:00 secz 1.4 DES_std_SDSSJ0200_Yzirg.json
SDSSJ0320-0000 ra 03:20:00 dec +00:00:00 secz 1.2 DES_std_SDSSJ0320_Yzirg.json

End of Night Standards MANUAL SLEW TO THESE FIELDS Wind screen down
UT Date = '2014/01/24 04:45' Local time = 01:45
C26202/HST ra 03:32:30 dec -27:46:05 secz 2.0 DES_std_c26202_grizY.json