Project

General

Profile

01222018

First-half night for DES

Observers

to get the names, check the shift table

  • David Gerdes (Observer1)
  • Landon Gelman (Observer2/Run Manager)

CTIO Staff

To get the names, check the "staff calendar":* Staff calendar

  • Manuel Hernandez - Obs. Support
  • Claudio Aguilera - Operator

Almanac

forgotten how to do this? Use ephem with kentools

mjd 58141, date 20180122, Site CTIO, UT-offset 3 hr
Current local time 15:03 CLST     UT 18:03     SidTim 21:29
Event      Local-Time  Greenwich  Sidereal-Time
Sunset     20:54 CLST  23:54 UT   03:20   50 deg  
Eve. -10   21:33 CLST  00:33 UT   03:59   60 deg  Zeropoint; standards
Eve. -14   21:55 CLST  00:55 UT   04:20   65 deg  Begin obstac
Eve. -18   22:17 CLST  01:17 UT   04:43   71 deg  Last chance standards
Moonset    00:19 CLST  03:19 UT   06:45  101 deg  
Midpoint   01:55 CLST  04:55 UT   08:21  125 deg  
Morn -18   05:32 CLST  08:32 UT   11:58  180 deg  Begin astronomical twilight
Morn -14   05:55 CLST  08:55 UT   12:21  185 deg  End obstac; begin standards
Morn -10   06:17 CLST  09:17 UT   12:43  191 deg  
Sunrise    06:56 CLST  09:56 UT   13:22  200 deg  
Moon position (deg): RA 12.0, Dec 1.1 Phase: 0.359

Weather Conditions

  • at lunch: Clear skies
  • Forecast is to be clear

as predicted by hourly forecast

  • clouds: 0% expected
  • humidity: 60-65% expected
  • temp: ~12°C expected
  • wind: ~1 m/s expected

Observing Plan and Goals for the Night

  • First half DES, second half non-DES
  • Evening standards (Yzirg)
  • Script for g,r, WF in tiling 7 after moonset.
  • Obstac: C3r on seeing trigger, WF z,i in beginning with g,r later in evening.

forgotten how to do this? Use standards with kentools

  • 3 Evening standards
    Yzirg
UT Date = '2018/01/23 00:33'     Local time = 21:33
SDSSJ0200-0000        ra 02:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.3
SDSSJ0320-0000        ra 03:20:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.2
N.B. Only two standards came up on 'standards'.
  • 1 midpoint standard
    grizY
UT Date = '2018/01/23 04:55'     Local time = 01:55
SDSSJ1048-0000        ra 10:48:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.4

When were the last SN fields observed?

forgotten how to do this? Instructions here

hex_name     seqtype     last_complete
SN-E1    short    2018-01-15 01:08:05.835460+00:00
SN-X3    long_g    2018-01-15 02:17:19.554010+00:00
SN-E2    short    2018-01-16 00:59:34.787393+00:00
SN-S2    short    2018-01-16 02:08:01.691914+00:00
SN-X3    long_z    2018-01-17 00:57:02.927041+00:00
SN-X1    short    2018-01-18 00:58:11.372821+00:00
SN-X2    short    2018-01-18 01:17:35.251354+00:00
SN-X3    long_r    2018-01-18 01:37:02.154892+00:00
SN-S1    short    2018-01-19 00:58:20.251346+00:00
SN-C3    long_r    2018-01-19 01:18:53.717175+00:00
SN-C3    long_i    2018-01-20 00:53:07.404583+00:00
SN-C3    long_z    2018-01-20 01:27:30.008378+00:00
SN-C1    short    2018-01-21 00:58:01.943764+00:00
SN-C2    short    2018-01-21 01:17:29.266378+00:00
SN-C3    long_g    2018-01-21 01:36:55.766070+00:00
SN-X3    long_i    2018-01-22 00:50:58.995239+00:00

Useful links

Nightsum | CTIO Night Report | DECam Logbook
Tololo Environmental Web Page | Detailed hourly forecast | Satellite maps