Project

General

Profile

01222015

Nightly Observing Plan for MJD 57045 (starting evening of Jan 22, 2015)

DES has the first half of the night. Switchover occurs at the midpoint of the night, which is at 01:55 CLST (04:55UT).

Observers

  • Marisa March (observer 1)
  • Elisabeth Krause (run manager / observer 2)

CTIO Staff

  • Claudio Aguilera
  • Hernan Tirado

Almanac

mjd 57045, date 20150122, Site CTIO, UT-offset 3 hr
Current local time 12:07 CLST     UT 15:07     SidTim 18:32
Sunset     20:54 CLST  23:54 UT   SidTim   50 deg  
Eve. -10   21:33 CLST  00:33 UT   SidTim   60 deg  Zeropoint; standards
Eve. -14   21:55 CLST  00:55 UT   SidTim   65 deg  Begin obstac
Eve. -18   22:17 CLST  01:17 UT   SidTim   70 deg  Last chance standards
Moonset    22:21 CLST  01:21 UT   SidTim   71 deg  
Midpoint   01:55 CLST  04:55 UT   SidTim  125 deg  
Morn -18   05:32 CLST  08:32 UT   SidTim  179 deg  Begin astronomical twilight
Morn Std   05:55 CLST  08:55 UT   SidTim  185 deg  End obstac; begin standards
Morn -10   06:16 CLST  09:16 UT   SidTim  190 deg  
Sunrise    06:55 CLST  09:55 UT   SidTim  200 deg  
Moon position (deg): RA 340.0, Dec -4.7 Phase: 0.177

Weather Conditions

Forecast: Clear skies, light NE or NW winds. Possible humidity > 80%
http://www.yr.no/place/Chile/Coquimbo/Observatorio_Astron%C3%B3mico_Cerro_Tololo/hour_by_hour_detailed.html

Observing Plan and Goals for the Night

  • Start of night standards [Yzirg ordered scripts]
    UT Date = '2015/01/23 00:33'     Local time = 21:33
    SDSSJ0100-0000        ra 01:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.6  DES_std_sdssj0100_Yzirg.json
    SDSSJ0320-0000        ra 03:20:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.2  DES_std_sdssj0320_Yzirg.json
    
  • Pre-hand over standards (chose best option) [grizY ordered scripts]
    UT Date = '2015/01/23 04:48'     Local time = 01:48
    C26202/HST            ra 03:32:30  dec -27:46:05  secz 2.0
    SDSSJ1048-0000        ra 10:48:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.5  
    SDSSJ0843-0000        ra 08:43:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.2
    
    
  • No special instructions tonight?
  • Obstac.
  • middle-of-night standard, then handover to community team