Project

General

Profile

01222014 - Nightly Observing Plan for MJD 56680 (starting evening of Jan 22, 2014)

Observers

Observer 1 Observer 2 Run Manager Assistant Run Manager SISPI Expert on Call
David Gerdes Claudio Bruderer Claudio Bruderer
ext. 512 ext. 521 ext. 521

CTIO staff (Telescope Operators)

Day Support Night Assistant
Humberto Alberto

DECam Configuration and Setup

SISPI Configuration File DES.ini
DECam constants DECAM:CURRENT
Proposal ID 2012B-0001
Image Processing (Calibration) NCSA
Image Processing (First Cut) NCSA

Almanac
mjd 56680, date 20140122, Site CTIO, UT-offset 3 hr
Current local time 11:52 CLST     UT 14:52     SidTim 18:18
Sunset     20:54 CLST  23:54 UT   SidTim   50 deg  
Eve. -10   21:33 CLST  00:33 UT   SidTim   60 deg  Zeropoint; standards
Eve. -14   21:55 CLST  00:55 UT   SidTim   65 deg  Begin obstac
Eve. -18   22:17 CLST  01:17 UT   SidTim   71 deg  Last chance standards
Moonrise   00:26 CLST  03:26 UT   SidTim  103 deg  
Midpoint   01:55 CLST  04:55 UT   SidTim  125 deg  
Morn -18   05:32 CLST  08:32 UT   SidTim  180 deg  Begin astronomical twilight
Morn Std   05:55 CLST  08:55 UT   SidTim  185 deg  End obstac; begin standards
Morn -10   06:17 CLST  09:17 UT   SidTim  190 deg  
Sunrise    06:56 CLST  09:56 UT   SidTim  200 deg  
Moon position (deg): RA 199.8, Dec -8.7 Phase: 0.601

Weather Conditions

A bit hazy, otherwise clear.
http://www.meteochile.gob.cl/cna/irsat_alta.png

Observing Plan and Goals for the Night

  1. Afternoon calibrations - script to use: prenight_calibration.json
  2. Zeropoint check - preceed with zeros script: flush_Vsub.json
  3. Start of night standards (scripts listed below)
  4. Nightly out of focus image (right after last standard, no break) - script to use: defocus_nightly.json
  5. ObsTac
  6. Middle of night standards (scripts listed below)
  7. End of night calibrations - if good afternoon calibrations use postnight_calibration.json, otherwise use postnight_zeros_flats.json
  1. Will fill in below after midday

Start of Night Standards MANUAL SLEW TO THESE FIELDS Wind screen down
UT Date = '2014/01/23 00:40' Local time = 21:40
SDSSJ0100-0000 ra 01:00:00 dec +00:00:00 secz 1.7 DES_std_SDSSJ0100_Yzirg.json
SDSSJ0200-0000 ra 02:00:00 dec +00:00:00 secz 1.4 DES_std_SDSSJ0200_Yzirg.json
SDSSJ0320-0000 ra 03:20:00 dec +00:00:00 secz 1.2 DES_std_SDSSJ0320_Yzirg.json

End of Night Standards MANUAL SLEW TO THESE FIELDS Wind screen down
UT Date = '2014/01/23 04:45' Local time = 01:45
C26202/HST ra 03:32:30 dec -27:46:05 secz 2.0 DES_std_c26202_grizY.json