Project

General

Profile

01212018 » History » Version 4

« Previous - Version 4/5 (diff) - Next » - Current version
Landon Gelman, 01/21/2018 12:47 PM


01212018

First-half night for DES

Observers

to get the names, check the shift table

  • Marisa March (Observer1/Run Manager)
  • Landon Gelman (Observer2)

CTIO Staff

To get the names, check the "staff calendar":* Staff calendar

  • Hernan Tirado - Obs. Support
  • Claudio Aguilera - Operator

Almanac

forgotten how to do this? Use ephem with kentools

mjd 58140, date 20180121, Site CTIO, UT-offset 3 hr
Current local time 15:21 CLST     UT 18:21     SidTim 21:43
Event      Local-Time  Greenwich  Sidereal-Time
Sunset     20:54 CLST  23:54 UT   03:16   49 deg  
Eve. -10   21:33 CLST  00:33 UT   03:55   59 deg  Zeropoint; standards
Eve. -14   21:55 CLST  00:55 UT   04:17   64 deg  Begin obstac
Eve. -18   22:18 CLST  01:18 UT   04:40   70 deg  Last chance standards
Moonset    23:44 CLST  02:44 UT   06:06   92 deg  
Midpoint   01:55 CLST  04:55 UT   08:16  124 deg  
Morn -18   05:31 CLST  08:31 UT   11:53  178 deg  Begin astronomical twilight
Morn -14   05:54 CLST  08:54 UT   12:16  184 deg  End obstac; begin standards
Morn -10   06:16 CLST  09:16 UT   12:38  190 deg  
Sunrise    06:55 CLST  09:55 UT   13:17  199 deg  
Moon position (deg): RA 0.0, Dec -3.2 Phase: 0.297

Weather Conditions

  • at lunch: Clear skies, light clouds low on horizon
  • Forecast is to be clear

as predicted by hourly forecast

  • clouds: 0% expected
  • humidity: 57-64% expected
  • temp: ~ 12°C expected
  • wind: ~1 m/s expected

Observing Plan and Goals for the Night

  • First half DES, second half non-DES
  • Evening standards (Yzirg)
  • defocus json script (?)
  • Obstac: No SN on deadman

forgotten how to do this? Use standards with kentools

  • 3 Evening standards
    Yzirg
UT Date = '2018/01/22 00:33'     Local time = 21:33
SDSSJ0200-0000        ra 02:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.3
SDSSJ0320-0000        ra 03:20:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.2
N.B. Only two standards came up on 'standards'.
  • 1 midpoint standard
    grizY
UT Date = '2018/01/22 04:55'     Local time = 01:55
SDSSJ1048-0000        ra 10:48:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.5

When were the last SN fields observed?

forgotten how to do this? Instructions here

hex_name     seqtype     last_complete
SN-E1    short    2018-01-15 01:08:05.835460+00:00
SN-X3    long_i    2018-01-15 01:43:23.410783+00:00
SN-X3    long_g    2018-01-15 02:17:19.554010+00:00
SN-E2    short    2018-01-16 00:59:34.787393+00:00
SN-S2    short    2018-01-16 02:08:01.691914+00:00
SN-X3    long_z    2018-01-17 00:57:02.927041+00:00
SN-X1    short    2018-01-18 00:58:11.372821+00:00
SN-X2    short    2018-01-18 01:17:35.251354+00:00
SN-X3    long_r    2018-01-18 01:37:02.154892+00:00
SN-S1    short    2018-01-19 00:58:20.251346+00:00
SN-C3    long_r    2018-01-19 01:18:53.717175+00:00
SN-C3    long_i    2018-01-20 00:53:07.404583+00:00
SN-C3    long_z    2018-01-20 01:27:30.008378+00:00
SN-C1    short    2018-01-21 00:58:01.943764+00:00
SN-C2    short    2018-01-21 01:17:29.266378+00:00
SN-C3    long_g    2018-01-21 01:36:55.766070+00:00

Useful links

Nightsum | CTIO Night Report | DECam Logbook
Tololo Environmental Web Page | Detailed hourly forecast | Satellite maps