Project

General

Profile

01212014 - Nightly Observing Plan for MJD 56679 (starting evening of Jan 21, 2014)

Observers

Observer 1 Observer 2 Run Manager Assistant Run Manager SISPI Expert on Call
Claudio Bruderer Peter Nugent Claudio Bruderer
ext. 521 ext. 515 ext. 521

CTIO staff (Telescope Operators)

Day Support Night Assistant
Humberto Alberto

DECam Configuration and Setup

SISPI Configuration File DES.ini
DECam constants DECAM:CURRENT
Proposal ID 2012B-0001
Image Processing (Calibration) NCSA
Image Processing (First Cut) NCSA

Almanac
mjd 56679, date 20140121, Site CTIO, UT-offset 3 hr
Current local time 11:44 CLST     UT 14:44     SidTim 18:06
Sunset     20:54 CLST  23:54 UT   SidTim   49 deg  
Eve. -10   21:33 CLST  00:33 UT   SidTim   59 deg  Zeropoint; standards
Eve. -14   21:55 CLST  00:55 UT   SidTim   64 deg  Begin obstac
Eve. -18   22:18 CLST  01:18 UT   SidTim   70 deg  Last chance standards
Moonrise   23:50 CLST  02:50 UT   SidTim   93 deg  
Midpoint   01:55 CLST  04:55 UT   SidTim  124 deg  
Morn -18   05:31 CLST  08:31 UT   SidTim  178 deg  Begin astronomical twilight
Morn Std   05:54 CLST  08:54 UT   SidTim  184 deg  End obstac; begin standards
Morn -10   06:16 CLST  09:16 UT   SidTim  189 deg  
Sunrise    06:55 CLST  09:55 UT   SidTim  199 deg  
Moon position (deg): RA 187.6, Dec -4.8 Phase: 0.662

Weather Conditions

Sky seems very clear.
http://www.meteochile.gob.cl/cna/irsat_alta.png

Observing Plan and Goals for the Night

  1. Afternoon calibrations - script to use: prenight_calibration.json
  2. Zeropoint check - preceed with zeros script: flush_Vsub.json
  3. Start of night standards (scripts listed below)
  4. Nightly out of focus image (right after last standard, no break) - script to use: defocus_nightly.json
  5. ObsTac
  6. Middle of night standards (scripts listed below)
  7. End of night calibrations - if good afternoon calibrations use postnight_calibration.json, otherwise use postnight_zeros_flats.json
  1. Will fill in below after midday

Start of Night Standards MANUAL SLEW TO THESE FIELDS Wind screen down
UT Date = '2014/01/22 00:41' Local time = 21:41
SDSSJ0100-0000 ra 01:00:00 dec +00:00:00 secz 1.7 DES_std_SDSSJ0100_Yzirg.json
SDSSJ0200-0000 ra 02:00:00 dec +00:00:00 secz 1.3 DES_std_SDSSJ0200_Yzirg.json
SDSSJ0320-0000 ra 03:20:00 dec +00:00:00 secz 1.2 DES_std_SDSSJ0320_Yzirg.json

End of Night Standards MANUAL SLEW TO THESE FIELDS Wind screen down
UT Date = '2014/01/22 04:45' Local time = 01:45
C26202/HST ra 03:32:30 dec -27:46:05 secz 1.9 DES_std_c26202_grizY.json