Project

General

Profile

01202018

First-half night for DES

Observers

to get the names, check the shift table

  • Marisa March (Observer1/Run Manager)
  • Landon Gelman (Observer2)

CTIO Staff

To get the names, check the "staff calendar":* Staff calendar

  • Hernan Tirado - Obs. Support
  • Claudio Aguilera, Jacqueline Seron - Operator

Almanac

forgotten how to do this? Use ephem with kentools

mjd 58139, date 20180120, Site CTIO, UT-offset 3 hr
Current local time 16:31 CLST     UT 19:31     SidTim 22:49
Event      Local-Time  Greenwich  Sidereal-Time
Sunset     20:55 CLST  23:55 UT   03:13   48 deg  
Eve. -10   21:34 CLST  00:34 UT   03:52   58 deg  Zeropoint; standards
Eve. -14   21:56 CLST  00:56 UT   04:14   64 deg  Begin obstac
Eve. -18   22:18 CLST  01:18 UT   04:36   69 deg  Last chance standards
Moonset    23:09 CLST  02:09 UT   05:27   82 deg  
Midpoint   01:54 CLST  04:54 UT   08:12  123 deg  
Morn -18   05:30 CLST  08:30 UT   11:48  177 deg  Begin astronomical twilight
Morn -14   05:53 CLST  08:53 UT   12:11  183 deg  End obstac; begin standards
Morn -10   06:15 CLST  09:15 UT   12:33  188 deg  
Sunrise    06:54 CLST  09:54 UT   13:12  198 deg  
Moon position (deg): RA 348.2, Dec -7.3 Phase: 0.236

Weather Conditions

  • at lunch: Clear skies, light clouds low on horizon
  • Forecast is to be clear

as predicted by hourly forecast

  • clouds: 0% expected
  • humidity: 65-72% expected
  • temp: ~ 11°C expected
  • wind: 0-1 m/s expected

Observing Plan and Goals for the Night

  • First half DES, second half non-DES
  • Evening standards (Yzirg)
  • LowZ SN: /usr/remote/user/DECamObserver/ExposureScripts/DES_scripts/lowz_2017iuw_dec15.json
  • Obstac: C1 & C2 on deadman

forgotten how to do this? Use standards with kentools

  • 3 Evening standards
    Yzirg
UT Date = '2018/01/20 00:34'     Local time = 21:34
SDSSJ0100-0000        ra 01:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.6
SDSSJ0320-0000        ra 03:20:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.2
N.B. Only two standards came up on 'standards'.
  • 1 midpoint standard
    grizY
UT Date = '2018/01/20 04:54'     Local time = 01:54
SDSSJ1048-0000        ra 10:48:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.5

When were the last SN fields observed?

forgotten how to do this? Instructions here

hex_name    seqtype    last_complete
SN-C1    short    2018-01-14 02:42:57.432113+00:00
SN-C2    short    2018-01-14 03:02:21.354916+00:00
SN-E1    short    2018-01-15 01:08:05.835460+00:00
SN-C3    long_g    2018-01-15 01:29:21.843903+00:00
SN-X3    long_i    2018-01-15 01:43:23.410783+00:00
SN-X3    long_g    2018-01-15 02:17:19.554010+00:00
SN-E2    short    2018-01-16 00:59:34.787393+00:00
SN-S2    short    2018-01-16 02:08:01.691914+00:00
SN-X3    long_z    2018-01-17 00:57:02.927041+00:00
SN-X1    short    2018-01-18 00:58:11.372821+00:00
SN-X2    short    2018-01-18 01:17:35.251354+00:00
SN-X3    long_r    2018-01-18 01:37:02.154892+00:00
SN-S1    short    2018-01-19 00:58:20.251346+00:00
SN-C3    long_r    2018-01-19 01:18:53.717175+00:00
SN-C3    long_i    2018-01-20 00:53:07.404583+00:00
SN-C3    long_z    2018-01-20 01:27:30.008378+00:00

Useful links

Nightsum | CTIO Night Report | DECam Logbook
Tololo Environmental Web Page | Detailed hourly forecast | Satellite maps