Project

General

Profile

01202015

Nightly Observing Plan for MJD 57043 (starting evening of Jan 20, 2015)

DES has the first half of the night. Switchover occurs at the midpoint of the night, which is at 01:54 CLST (04:54UT).

Observers

  • David Gerdes (run manager/observer 1)
  • Elisabeth Krause (observer 2)

CTIO Staff

  • Leonardo Paredes
  • Hernan Tirado

Almanac

mjd 57043, date 20150120, Site CTIO, UT-offset 3 hr
Current local time 10:45 CLST     UT 13:45     SidTim 17:02
Sunset     20:55 CLST  23:55 UT   SidTim   48 deg  
Eve. -10   21:34 CLST  00:34 UT   SidTim   58 deg  Zeropoint; standards
Eve. -14   21:56 CLST  00:56 UT   SidTim   63 deg  Begin obstac
Eve. -18   22:19 CLST  01:19 UT   SidTim   69 deg  Last chance standards
Midpoint   01:54 CLST  04:54 UT   SidTim  123 deg  
Morn -18   05:30 CLST  08:30 UT   SidTim  177 deg  Begin astronomical twilight
Morn Std   05:53 CLST  08:53 UT   SidTim  182 deg  End obstac; begin standards
Morn -10   06:14 CLST  09:14 UT   SidTim  188 deg  
Sunrise    06:54 CLST  09:54 UT   SidTim  198 deg  
Moon position (deg): RA 311.0, Dec -12.7 Phase: 0.024

Weather Conditions

Clear and hot, low wind and 20% humidity

Observing Plan and Goals for the Night

  • standards
    UT Date = '2015/01/20 00:34'     Local time = 21:34
    SDSSJ0000-0000        ra 00:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 2.2
    SDSSJ0100-0000        ra 01:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.6
    SDSSJ0320-0000        ra 03:20:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.2
    
  • Eric's script for equatorial fields for first ~half hour, provided t_eff>0.3 for first few i,z-band exposures.
  • Obstac, expect wide survey all shift if seeing permits
  • middle-of-night standard, then handover to community team