Project

General

Profile

01192018 » History » Version 1

March Marisa, 01/19/2018 12:40 PM

1 1 March Marisa
h1. 01192018
2 1 March Marisa
3 1 March Marisa
First-half night for DES
4 1 March Marisa
5 1 March Marisa
h3. Observers
6 1 March Marisa
7 1 March Marisa
> to get the names, check the "shift table":https://cdcvs.fnal.gov/redmine/projects/desops/wiki/DESShiftsYr6
8 1 March Marisa
9 1 March Marisa
* Landon Gelman (Observer1)
10 1 March Marisa
* Marisa March (Observer2/Run Manager)
11 1 March Marisa
12 1 March Marisa
13 1 March Marisa
h3. CTIO Staff
14 1 March Marisa
15 1 March Marisa
> To get the names, check the "staff calendar":* "Staff calendar":http://www.ctio.noao.edu/cgi-bin/Calcium38.pl?Op=ShowIt&CalendarName=4m_Observing_Schedule
16 1 March Marisa
17 1 March Marisa
* Hernan Tirado - Obs. Support
18 1 March Marisa
* Claudio Aguilera, Jacqueline Seron - Operator
19 1 March Marisa
20 1 March Marisa
h3. Almanac
21 1 March Marisa
22 1 March Marisa
> forgotten how to do this? Use ephem with "kentools":https://cdcvs.fnal.gov/redmine/projects/desops/wiki/Introduction_to_kentools
23 1 March Marisa
24 1 March Marisa
<pre>
25 1 March Marisa
mjd 58138, date 20180119, Site CTIO, UT-offset 3 hr
26 1 March Marisa
Current local time 15:34 CLST     UT 18:34     SidTim 21:48
27 1 March Marisa
Event      Local-Time  Greenwich  Sidereal-Time
28 1 March Marisa
Sunset     20:55 CLST  23:55 UT   03:09   47 deg  
29 1 March Marisa
Eve. -10   21:34 CLST  00:34 UT   03:48   57 deg  Zeropoint; standards
30 1 March Marisa
Eve. -14   21:56 CLST  00:56 UT   04:10   63 deg  Begin obstac
31 1 March Marisa
Eve. -18   22:19 CLST  01:19 UT   04:33   68 deg  Last chance standards
32 1 March Marisa
Moonset    22:33 CLST  01:33 UT   04:47   72 deg  
33 1 March Marisa
Midpoint   01:54 CLST  04:54 UT   08:08  122 deg  
34 1 March Marisa
Morn -18   05:29 CLST  08:29 UT   11:43  176 deg  Begin astronomical twilight
35 1 March Marisa
Morn -14   05:52 CLST  08:52 UT   12:06  182 deg  End obstac; begin standards
36 1 March Marisa
Morn -10   06:14 CLST  09:14 UT   12:28  187 deg  
37 1 March Marisa
Sunrise    06:53 CLST  09:53 UT   13:07  197 deg  
38 1 March Marisa
Moon position (deg): RA 336.4, Dec -11.0 Phase: 0.175
39 1 March Marisa
</pre>
40 1 March Marisa
41 1 March Marisa
42 1 March Marisa
h3. Weather Conditions
43 1 March Marisa
44 1 March Marisa
* at lunch: Clear skies, light airs, fluffy clouds low on horizon
45 1 March Marisa
* Forecast is to be clear
46 1 March Marisa
> "as predicted by hourly forecast":http://www.yr.no/place/Chile/Coquimbo/Observatorio_Astron%C3%B3mico_Cerro_Tololo/hour_by_hour_detailed.html
47 1 March Marisa
 
48 1 March Marisa
* clouds: 0% expected
49 1 March Marisa
* humidity: 56-60% expected
50 1 March Marisa
* temp: ~ 12°C expected
51 1 March Marisa
* wind:  0m/s then 1 m/s expected
52 1 March Marisa
53 1 March Marisa
h3. Observing Plan and Goals for the Night
54 1 March Marisa
55 1 March Marisa
* First half DES, second half non-DES
56 1 March Marisa
* Evening standards (Yzirg) 
57 1 March Marisa
* Obstac: ?
58 1 March Marisa
59 1 March Marisa
> forgotten how to do this? Use standards with "kentools":https://cdcvs.fnal.gov/redmine/projects/desops/wiki/Introduction_to_kentools
60 1 March Marisa
61 1 March Marisa
* 3 Evening standards 
62 1 March Marisa
Yzirg
63 1 March Marisa
64 1 March Marisa
<pre>
65 1 March Marisa
UT Date = '2018/01/20 00:34'     Local time = 21:34
66 1 March Marisa
SDSSJ0100-0000        ra 01:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.6
67 1 March Marisa
SDSSJ0320-0000        ra 03:20:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.2
68 1 March Marisa
N.B. Only two standards came up on 'standards'.
69 1 March Marisa
</pre>
70 1 March Marisa
71 1 March Marisa
* 1 midpoint standard
72 1 March Marisa
ugrizY to assist second half observers
73 1 March Marisa
74 1 March Marisa
<pre>
75 1 March Marisa
UT Date = '2018/01/20 04:54'     Local time = 01:54
76 1 March Marisa
SDSSJ1048-0000        ra 10:48:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.5
77 1 March Marisa
</pre>
78 1 March Marisa
79 1 March Marisa
h3. When were the last SN fields observed?
80 1 March Marisa
81 1 March Marisa
> forgotten how to do this? "Instructions here":https://cdcvs.fnal.gov/redmine/projects/desops/wiki/When_were_the_SN_fields_last_observed
82 1 March Marisa
83 1 March Marisa
<pre>
84 1 March Marisa
hex_name	seqtype	last_complete
85 1 March Marisa
SN-C3	long_i	2018-01-14 01:01:26.002505+00:00
86 1 March Marisa
SN-C3	long_z	2018-01-14 01:35:34.375913+00:00
87 1 March Marisa
SN-C1	short	2018-01-14 02:42:57.432113+00:00
88 1 March Marisa
SN-C2	short	2018-01-14 03:02:21.354916+00:00
89 1 March Marisa
SN-E1	short	2018-01-15 01:08:05.835460+00:00
90 1 March Marisa
SN-C3	long_g	2018-01-15 01:29:21.843903+00:00
91 1 March Marisa
SN-X3	long_i	2018-01-15 01:43:23.410783+00:00
92 1 March Marisa
SN-X3	long_g	2018-01-15 02:17:19.554010+00:00
93 1 March Marisa
SN-E2	short	2018-01-16 00:59:34.787393+00:00
94 1 March Marisa
SN-S2	short	2018-01-16 02:08:01.691914+00:00
95 1 March Marisa
SN-X3	long_z	2018-01-17 00:57:02.927041+00:00
96 1 March Marisa
SN-X1	short	2018-01-18 00:58:11.372821+00:00
97 1 March Marisa
SN-X2	short	2018-01-18 01:17:35.251354+00:00
98 1 March Marisa
SN-X3	long_r	2018-01-18 01:37:02.154892+00:00
99 1 March Marisa
SN-S1	short	2018-01-19 00:58:20.251346+00:00
100 1 March Marisa
SN-C3	long_r	2018-01-19 01:18:53.717175+00:00
101 1 March Marisa
</pre>
102 1 March Marisa
103 1 March Marisa
h3. Useful links
104 1 March Marisa
  
105 1 March Marisa
"Nightsum":http://des-ops.fnal.gov:8080/nightsum/ | "CTIO Night Report":http://www.ctio.noao.edu/noao/node/add/night-report | "DECam Logbook":http://system1.ctio.noao.edu:8080/ECL/decam/E/index
106 1 March Marisa
"Tololo Environmental Web Page":http://139.229.115.231/web/tololo_frame.html | "Detailed hourly forecast":http://www.yr.no/place/Chile/Coquimbo/Observatorio_Astron%C3%B3mico_Cerro_Tololo/hour_by_hour_detailed.html | "Satellite maps":http://139.229.115.231/web/world_sat.php