Project

General

Profile

01182018

First-half night for DES

Observers

to get the names, check the shift table

  • Landon Gelman (Observer1)
  • Marisa March (Observer2/Run Manager)

CTIO Staff

To get the names, check the "staff calendar":* Staff calendar

  • Hernan Tirado - Obs. Support
  • Claudio Aguilera - Operator

Almanac

forgotten how to do this? Use ephem with kentools

mjd 58137, date 20180118, Site CTIO, UT-offset 3 hr
Current local time 17:07 CLST     UT 20:07     SidTim 23:17
Event      Local-Time  Greenwich  Sidereal-Time
Sunset     20:55 CLST  23:55 UT   03:05   46 deg  
Eve. -10   21:35 CLST  00:35 UT   03:45   56 deg  Zeropoint; standards
Moonset    21:55 CLST  00:55 UT   04:06   61 deg  
Eve. -14   21:57 CLST  00:57 UT   04:07   62 deg  Begin obstac
Eve. -18   22:20 CLST  01:20 UT   04:30   68 deg  Last chance standards
Midpoint   01:54 CLST  04:54 UT   08:04  121 deg  
Morn -18   05:28 CLST  08:28 UT   11:38  174 deg  Begin astronomical twilight
Morn -14   05:51 CLST  08:51 UT   12:01  180 deg  End obstac; begin standards
Morn -10   06:13 CLST  09:13 UT   12:23  186 deg  
Sunrise    06:52 CLST  09:52 UT   13:02  196 deg  
Moon position (deg): RA 324.4, Dec -14.1 Phase: 0.114

Weather Conditions

  • at lunch: Clear skies, light airs
  • Forecast is to be clear

as predicted by hourly forecast

  • clouds: 0% expected
  • humidity: 55-60% expected
  • temp: ~ 13°C expected
  • wind: 1 m/s expected

Observing Plan and Goals for the Night

  • First half DES, second half non-DES
  • Evening standards (Yzirg)
  • Obstac: Tonight we expect to do S1 and C3r as well as dark WF.

forgotten how to do this? Use standards with kentools

  • 3 Evening standards
    Yzirg
UT Date = '2018/01/19 00:35'     Local time = 21:35
SDSSJ0000-0000        ra 00:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 2.1
SDSSJ0100-0000        ra 01:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.5
SDSSJ0320-0000        ra 03:20:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.2
  • 1 midpoint standard
    ugrizY to assist second half observers
UT Date = '2018/01/19 04:54'     Local time = 01:54
SDSSJ1048-0000        ra 10:48:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.5

When were the last SN fields observed?

forgotten how to do this? Instructions here

hex_name    seqtype    last_complete
SN-S1    short    2018-01-12 01:01:31.504913+00:00
SN-C3    long_r    2018-01-12 01:22:01.309078+00:00
SN-C3    long_i    2018-01-14 01:01:26.002505+00:00
SN-C3    long_z    2018-01-14 01:35:34.375913+00:00
SN-C1    short    2018-01-14 02:42:57.432113+00:00
SN-C2    short    2018-01-14 03:02:21.354916+00:00
SN-E1    short    2018-01-15 01:08:05.835460+00:00
SN-C3    long_g    2018-01-15 01:29:21.843903+00:00
SN-X3    long_i    2018-01-15 01:43:23.410783+00:00
SN-X3    long_g    2018-01-15 02:17:19.554010+00:00
SN-E2    short    2018-01-16 00:59:34.787393+00:00
SN-S2    short    2018-01-16 02:08:01.691914+00:00
SN-X3    long_z    2018-01-17 00:57:02.927041+00:00
SN-X1    short    2018-01-18 00:58:11.372821+00:00
SN-X2    short    2018-01-18 01:17:35.251354+00:00
SN-X3    long_r    2018-01-18 01:37:02.154892+00:00

Useful links

Nightsum | CTIO Night Report | DECam Logbook
Tololo Environmental Web Page | Detailed hourly forecast | Satellite maps