Project

General

Profile

01182017

Nightly Observing Plan for MJD 57772 (starting evening of Jan 17, 2018)

Half night

Observers

  • Andrés Plazas (Obs 2, RM)
  • Daniel Grün (Obs 1)

CTIO Staff

  • Hernán Tirado - Obs. Support
  • Alberto Álvarez - Operator
  • Staff calendar

Almanac

mjd 57772, date 20170118, Site CTIO, UT-offset 3 hr
Current local time 16:50 CLST     UT 19:50     SidTim 23:01
Sunset     20:55 CLST  23:55 UT   SidTim   46 deg  
Eve. -10   21:35 CLST  00:35 UT   SidTim   56 deg  Zeropoint; standards
Eve. -14   21:57 CLST  00:57 UT   SidTim   62 deg  Begin obstac
Eve. -18   22:19 CLST  01:19 UT   SidTim   68 deg  Last chance standards
Moonrise   01:01 CLST  04:01 UT   SidTim  108 deg  
Midpoint   01:54 CLST  04:54 UT   SidTim  121 deg  
Morn -18   05:28 CLST  08:28 UT   SidTim  175 deg  Begin astronomical twilight
Morn Std   05:51 CLST  08:51 UT   SidTim  180 deg  End obstac; begin standards
Morn -10   06:13 CLST  09:13 UT   SidTim  186 deg  
Sunrise    06:52 CLST  09:52 UT   SidTim  196 deg  
Moon position (deg): RA 201.9, Dec -4.3 Phase: 0.567

Weather Conditions

Observing Plan and Goals for the Night

*No standards today. TOO instead, starting at -12 deg, not at -10 deg
* Obstac: SN have priority. Turn off Obstac after SNe fields are done and do more TOO. If there's time left, WF survey through Obstac.
* Half Night standards (using calspec) use only 1 (highest airmass): grizY

UT Date = '2017/01/19 04:54'     Local time = 01:54
C26202/HST            ra 03:32:30  dec -27:46:05  secz 1.9
SDSSJ1048-0000        ra 10:48:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.5
SDSSJ0843-0000        ra 08:43:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.2

When were the last SN fields observed?

(See https://cdcvs.fnal.gov/redmine/projects/desops/wiki/When_were_the_SN_fields_last_observed for database query.)

hex_name    seqtype    last_complete
SN-E1    short    2017-01-06 01:31:13.849313+00:00
SN-E2    short    2017-01-07 01:12:38.257603+00:00
SN-X3    long_i    2017-01-09 01:30:36.947901+00:00
SN-X3    long_r    2017-01-10 01:10:06.449223+00:00
SN-X1    short    2017-01-10 01:33:11.338565+00:00
SN-X2    short    2017-01-10 01:52:37.085170+00:00
SN-X3    long_g    2017-01-17 01:00:04.352758+00:00
SN-S2    short    2017-01-17 01:13:13.073119+00:00
SN-S1    short    2017-01-17 01:32:37.951050+00:00
SN-C3    long_g    2017-01-17 01:53:19.313949+00:00
SN-C3    long_z    2017-01-17 02:06:27.103965+00:00
SN-C1    short    2017-01-17 03:13:47.314962+00:00
SN-C2    short    2017-01-17 03:33:12.413512+00:00
SN-X3    long_z    2017-01-18 00:57:06.761183+00:00
SN-C3    long_r    2017-01-18 02:05:15.138597+00:00
SN-C3    long_i    2017-01-18 02:28:19.432806+00:00

Notes from 4pm meeting

Looks clear. A nice night, like last night.

Taking airmass limit to 1.7 allows us to get E1 and E2 and possibly X3i.

TOO will provide a short json file to start partway thru SS (-12 deg) and another
(set of) jsons for after the SN fields are done.
Tomorrow to do the remaining ones that are setting early.

Expect to do: X3z, C3r,i