Project

General

Profile

01182014 - Nightly Observing Plan for MJD 56676 (starting evening of Jan 18, 2014)

Observers

Observer 1 Observer 2 Run Manager Assistant Run Manager SISPI Expert on Call
David James Peter Nugent Claudio Bruderer
ext. 511 ext. 515 ext. 521

CTIO staff (Telescope Operators)

Day Support Night Assistant
Javier Alberto

DECam Configuration and Setup

SISPI Configuration File DES.ini
DECam constants DECAM:CURRENT
Proposal ID 2012B-0001
Image Processing (Calibration) NCSA
Image Processing (First Cut) NCSA

Almanac
mjd 56676, date 20140118, Site CTIO, UT-offset 3 hr
Current local time 12:21 CLST     UT 15:21     SidTim 18:31
Sunset     20:55 CLST  23:55 UT   SidTim   46 deg  
Eve. -10   21:35 CLST  00:35 UT   SidTim   56 deg  Zeropoint; standards
Eve. -14   21:57 CLST  00:57 UT   SidTim   62 deg  Begin obstac
Moonrise   22:08 CLST  01:08 UT   SidTim   64 deg  
Eve. -18   22:20 CLST  01:20 UT   SidTim   68 deg  Last chance standards
Midpoint   01:54 CLST  04:54 UT   SidTim  121 deg  
Morn -18   05:28 CLST  08:28 UT   SidTim  174 deg  Begin astronomical twilight
Morn Std   05:51 CLST  08:51 UT   SidTim  180 deg  End obstac; begin standards
Morn -10   06:13 CLST  09:13 UT   SidTim  186 deg  
Sunrise    06:52 CLST  09:52 UT   SidTim  196 deg  
Moon position (deg): RA 152.6, Dec 7.3 Phase: 0.835

Weather Conditions

Some thin clouds across the sky, also over the Blanco at the moment. Quite a few thick clouds far away towards the East
http://www.meteochile.gob.cl/cna/irsat_alta.png

Observing Plan and Goals for the Night

  1. Afternoon calibrations - script to use: prenight_calibration.json
  2. Zeropoint check - preceed with zeros script: flush_Vsub.json
  3. Start of night standards (scripts listed below)
  4. Nightly out of focus image (right after last standard, no break) - script to use: defocus_nightly.json
  5. ObsTac
  6. End of night standards (scripts listed below)
  7. Starflats (scripts listed below)
  8. End of night calibrations - if good afternoon calibrations use postnight_calibration.json, otherwise use postnight_zeros_flats.json
  1. Will fill in below after midday

Start of Night Standards MANUAL SLEW TO THESE FIELDS Wind screen down
UT Date = '2014/01/19 00:35' Local time = 21:35
SDSSJ0000-0000 ra 00:00:00 dec +00:00:00 secz 2.1 DES_std_SDSSJ0000_Yzirg.json
SDSSJ0100-0000 ra 01:00:00 dec +00:00:00 secz 1.5 DES_std_SDSSJ0100_Yzirg.json
SDSSJ0320-0000 ra 03:20:00 dec +00:00:00 secz 1.2 DES_std_SDSSJ0320_Yzirg.json

End of Night Standards MANUAL SLEW TO THESE FIELDS Wind screen down
UT Date = '2014/01/19 05:30' Local time = 02:30
SDSSJ1227-0000 ra 12:27:00 dec +00:00:00 secz 2.0 DES_std_SDSS1227_grizY.json
SDSSJ0843-0000 ra 08:43:00 dec +00:00:00 secz 1.2 DES_std_SDSS0843_grizY.json
MaxVis ra 06:30:00 dec -58:45:00 secz 1.3 DES_std_maxvis_grizY.json

Starflats MANUAL SLEW TO THESE FIELDS Wind screen down
ra 13:27:00 dec -48:45:00 engineering_20140114/Starflat_i.json
ra 13:27:00 dec -48:45:00 engineering_20140114/Starflat_r.json
ra 13:27:00 dec -48:45:00 engineering_20140114/Starflat_g.json
ra 13:27:00 dec -48:45:00 engineering_20140114/Starflat_z.json
ra 13:27:00 dec -48:45:00 engineering_20140114/Starflat_Y.json